Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Windows And Net Use, Net Time Etc...., a problem I have...
Robert83
post Jun 7 2004, 06:19 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

I know this aint got nothin' to do with linux , but this is the General Discussion forum, so I guess I can post it here ...

so the problem is as follows, I have a few win98se win98 computers at my workplace, some of them have net use, net time and some of them don't , I even tried reinstalling one of them by installing win98se on the old win98se again, but still no net use or net time command, it says command not found....(the usual windows error)


so anyone know what do I need in order to get net use and net time to work in win98/win98se ?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
Termina
post Jun 8 2004, 03:35 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Try typing 'net' or 'net /help'

Then try 'net use'.

<.<

I had that problem, and for some reason typing 'net' fixed it. *shrugs*

You could start a religion about some of the weird ways to fix things in windows. happy.gif *offers a goat sacrifice to his 166mhz 98 machine*


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 8 2004, 08:36 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



hi

that didn't fix it,

I have 4x win98se/win98 computers that for some reason don't have net at all , no net use net time etc...


any other ideas?


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jun 8 2004, 01:22 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



O_o

Did 'net' return anything?

Please search your system for a "net.exe"

<.<

That's very weird, especially if it's happening on more than one computer.

I'll upload a net.exe on my website for you to download, maybe that will help you. =D *starts to install 98SE on one of his systems*


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 9 2004, 11:08 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



May god have mercy on the soul of that idiotic Win98SE , because I wont...

guess what.... C:/WINDOWS/NET.EXE is there, and it's even in autoexec.bat PATH = C:/WINDOWS; etc...etc...etc....

when I type net it says bad command or file name
but when I type c:/windows/net.exe it works....bahhhh


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 10:42 PM