Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Partition Errors, Imaginary Dvd-roms After Install, installation, windows, partition table
glacialfury
post Jun 4 2004, 05:25 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-June 04
Member No.: 3,093



Please bear with me. I will try to be as concise as possible.
This is my first time using/installing Linux. It is SuSE 9.1, FTP version.

I have an 80gb hard drive; I first partitioned it to have one 10gb partition, one 58gb partition, and I left 12gb unpartitioned. I installed Windows XP Professional on the 10gb partition (NTFS). I also used the 58gb (also NTFS) as a storage partition in Windows where I keep all of my work and backup files. It is very important to me.

******** BACKGROUND **********
1) I installed SuSE 9.1 via FTP according to the official instructions.
I allowed to use the unpartitioned space, and partitioned it according to the installer's suggestion.
This left me with approximately 1gb as a swap partition, and the remaining 11gb as the linux drive.
2) I then booted SuSE with no problems using GRUB.
3) I then rebooted and attempted to load Windows. It gave me the message:
root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0x7
chainloader +1
4) This is a known problem, described at:
http://portal.suse.com/sdb/en/2004/05/fhas..._booting91.html

They have two solutions: to change a BIOS setting, or update some drivers.
I chose to change the BIOS setting. Rather than have the hard drive autodetect,
I set it to LBA. As described, this allowed me to boot into Windows normally.
This is where the real problem occurs.

******* PROBLEM ********
1) In "My Computer", two new DVD-ROM drives have shown up.
One is "AXV CD/DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device"
The other: "Generic DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device"

I don't, in fact, have a DVD-ROM at all, nor do I have a SCSI controller.
I have no idea why these have shown up after the installation of linux,
unless Windows is somehow identify the linux partitions as DVD-ROM drives.

This is annoying, but minor. The larger problem ...

2) My 55gb storage partition shows up as "D:", which is normal, but it shows up
as unformatted, and the size reads 0 kb.

3) Other (possibly) pertinent notes:
My primary windows partition, C:, seems untouched. I was able to view the files from both Windows and Linux (through its automatically configured network).
When in Linux, I was also able to see and access my Windows D: drive, but it showed no files on it. At the time, I figured it simply wasn't reading it correctly in linux. On second thought now, it may be having the same problem that Windows is having, which leads me to the partition table theory below.

******** THOUGHTS ****************
The best (uneducated) guess I have is that the YaST installer incorrectly wrote the partition table, and that Windows is now having problems reading it. So it might help to UNDO the BIOS change I made, and try the driver fix instead. However, I don't want to take any more steps which might complicate things further until I've heard from someone with more expertise than I.

Please, help me make my first Linux experience a good one. I'm willing to learn and sacrifice, but I'd hate to lose my data for the sake of an experiment.

I can be contacted at:
e-mail: glacialfury@hotmail.com Please put "Linux Help" in the subject
ICQ: 91030274
AOL: KnowTheDialectic
MSN: glacialfury@hotmail.com

I will also check this forum regularly for a response.
Thank you ahead of time for any suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
glacialfury
post Jun 5 2004, 01:27 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-June 04
Member No.: 3,093



bump
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Jun 5 2004, 05:57 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Umm, ok, so the phantom DVD drives shouldn't have anything to do with the partition table, since thats a bios thing. The fact that your one NTFS drive is showing up as zero may be a result of the partition table being bad.

Show me the code you used for the windows entry in Grub. I think that there might have been an error in the code and that the bios changes might have been unneeded. I would recomend trying to make sure your grub code is correct and than changing things back on your BIOS and see were that gets us. Post you grub.conf file, you can find it in /etc. That should help get us started.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
glacialfury
post Jun 6 2004, 08:59 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-June 04
Member No.: 3,093



I didn't change anything in the grub.conf file, but here it is anyway. I added spaces here between the lines to distinguish between them.
************************************************
root (hd0,6)

install --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd0) /boot/grub/stage2 0x8000 (hd0,6)/boot/grub/menu.lst

quit
**********************************************

Also, I went back and tried the driver update fix that SuSE suggests; both with the floppy and the CD, it says that no new drivers were found. My assumption there is that the update was already done via YaST, and that I would need to do it specifically with the fixpart=1 option in order to repair the partition table. To do that, I would have to find the update and restore it to the older version, so that I could do it again manually.

By the way, thank you for responding. I had started to think that none of the larger brains out there were coming to my rescue ;-) Also, I found a way to recover my data to another computer, so that may open up my options if I need to format or re-install anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 04:37 AM