Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help With Init.d, starting services at boot
cyris
post Jun 4 2004, 11:35 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,090



Hello, I was woundering if anyone could write a walk through on how to start apache2 @ boot up.

Do I just move the startup script into init.d?

How about if I dont have a startup script?

Thanks!


--------------------
"Your mouse has moved. Windows NT must be restarted for the change to take effect. Reboot now ? [OK]"

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 4 2004, 11:49 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

what distro are use using ?

/etc/init.d/httpd start ---> Start Apache
/etc/init.d/httpd stop ----> Stop Apache
/etc/init.d/httpd restart -----> Restart Apache
/etc/init.d/httpd status ---> status of Apache


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 4 2004, 11:53 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi

type this into a terminal
CODE

chkconfig --list | grep httpd

if the result is like this
httpd 0:off 1:off 2:off 3:off 4:off 5:off 6:off

type this into a terminal
CODE
chkconfig httpd on


then type again
CODE

chkconfig --list | grep httpd

and if the result is this
httpd 0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off

then httpd will start up every time you reboot your system


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cyris
post Jun 4 2004, 12:24 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,090



sorry forgot to post what distro. Redhat 6.2

lets say that its a new daemon i just installed. Would I toss the startup script into init.d?

0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off

Im going to take a guess at this, these are run levels correct? what is the default run level? 3?


--------------------
"Your mouse has moved. Windows NT must be restarted for the change to take effect. Reboot now ? [OK]"

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cyris
post Jun 5 2004, 01:39 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 3,090



I was able to get ssh runing at startup. I had to grab a startup script and do some soft linking but all works! thanks.


--------------------
"Your mouse has moved. Windows NT must be restarted for the change to take effect. Reboot now ? [OK]"

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 01:57 AM