Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Geforce Fx 5500, Black screen with mandrake 10.0 and 9.2
budman21901
post Jun 3 2004, 01:37 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 04
Member No.: 3,080



I just purchased a new HP with the Geforce FX 5500 vid card. I pulled my linux drive out of old system too put in the new one installed bootloader nothing nothing but command line. I did a total format of / and still nothing. I tried my 9.2 mandrake disks, and my 10.0 community disks. Same results. When installing i can see everything. Its only when it tries too run a display manager it crashes. Its not really a crash. Its loaded up but screen is black light brightness is turned down or something. Cntl/alt/backspace puts me back too command line with no errors reported. nvidia has new drivers, but they do the same thing. Any info anyone needs too help me i will do my best too provide. I am beginner at command line though so its hard for me too get around. Been using Gnome for a year though. Anyone have any idea where the problem is?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jun 3 2004, 01:48 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



As X loads (if you use the nvidia driver package for linux on their site) there is a black screen for (depending on the system) a few minutes. Then you will see a white 'Nvidia' logo, and you'll be in your window manager.

Please startx, and wait patiently. =)


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
budman21901
post Jun 3 2004, 03:39 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 3-June 04
Member No.: 3,080



Thanks! I didnt know that. I waited alittle while but grew impatient. Does this also do this with a fresh install from disk? I may not need too reload the new driver. I currently uninstalled it too put the drive on a working system so i could burn my files to cd. If i reinstall with 10.0 will it work from cd or should i use the nividia site drivers?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Jun 5 2004, 10:30 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



I'm not sure, but I can give you a guess:

I'm betting that the nvidia driver is not included if you do a fresh install.

Oh, you'll have video, and you can go into X, but you'll probally be using a generic driver.

To be able to have openGL, and 3D acceleration, you'll need the nvidia drivers from their site.


Just a guess though. happy.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 06:33 PM