Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fglrx Help, ATI Radeon 9600
wookmaster
post Jun 2 2004, 06:36 AM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



I installed Mandrake 10 a few days ago. It seemed to detect my video card fine it said it was using [Radeon(fglrx)] so I thought great really having luck with this distro. So I download and install the ut 2004 demo to see how it works. I get the splash screen and bam it would just shut down.

Heres the error I would get in the log

CODE
ScriptLog: New Player Player id=32af618f3ba1ef8264f8deefed08553c
Log: Enter SetRes: 800x600 Fullscreen 1
Log: OpenGL
Critical: Couldn't set video mode: Couldn't find matching GLX visual

Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
Exit: Executing USDLClient::ShutdownAfterError
Log: Waiting for file streaming thread to finish...


So I decided to try tux racer...ran slow as all hell mouse would barely move.

I decided to try downloading ATI's driver from the website. I download them and try to install. I get this error

CODE
*** Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
*** WARNING ***
Tailored kernel module for fglrx not present in your system.
You must go to /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod subdir
and execute './make.sh' to build a fully customed kernel module.
Afterwards go to /lib/modules/fglrx and run './make_install.sh'
in order to install the module into your kernel's module repository.
(see readme.txt for more details.)

As of now you can still run your XServer in 2D, but hardware acclerated
OpenGL will not work and 2D graphics will lack performance.

failed.
*** Error: no kernel module build environment - please consult readme.


so they have a help file on their site directly related to this error Here

I installed the kernel source, ran the commands they wanted. Reinstalled the driver everything says it works. But when I run fglrxinfo it tells me it's using the mesa driver. I cant get it to use the ATI driver. I tried everything 3 times over with no luck.


If anyone could help me with this I would greatly appreciate. Games are the only reason windows is still a partition on my drive.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 2 2004, 06:53 AM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



also this is what fglrxinfo looks like

CODE
Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 4.0.4



does the extension message mean anything? Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
simonau
post Jun 3 2004, 06:08 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 21-March 04
Member No.: 2,625



Try this site it helped for me.
http://rage3d.com/board/forumdisplay.php?forumid=61
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Jun 3 2004, 07:32 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

have a look at /etc/X11/FX86Config-4 (or XF86Config)

and make sure that there is a

# === ATI device section ===

Identifier "ATI Graphich Adapter"
Driver "fglrx"

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 24 2004, 05:45 PM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



I got it workin but UT 2004 runs pretty choppy compared to Windows, wish drivers would work better for this card. Tux racer runs smooth tho smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 24 2004, 08:26 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You might try 16 instead of 24 bit color .... my frames up by 3x if I do!


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 25 2004, 07:04 AM
Post #7


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



It wont let me change it for some reason, I can change the resolution but when I choose the colors it stays at 24bpp nothing else shows up


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 25 2004, 07:11 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What I failed to mention was that this is on my NVIDIA card. I'm not sure if you can do it on a RADEON card.

Robert83 would know the answer.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 25 2004, 07:16 AM
Post #9


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



man this thing kicks in windows but it might be worth it to pop in my old GeForce 2 MX 64 meg for some games under linux smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 27 2004, 08:24 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Mandrake 10 is kind of wierd about drivers...

you might be able to edit your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file directly ... (back it up first).

look for a section that looks similar to this:

CODE
Section "Screen"
       Identifier "Screen0"
       Device     "Videocard0"
       Monitor    "Monitor0"
       DefaultDepth     24
       SubSection "Display"
               Depth     24
               Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
       EndSubSection
       SubSection "Display"
               Depth     16
               Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
       EndSubSection
EndSection


If there is no Depth 16 SubSection "Display"
CODE
       SubSection "Display"
               Depth     16
               Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
       EndSubSection


... just copy the Depth 24 SubSection "Display" and pasted it below the current Depth 24 SubSection "Display" ... but before the EndSection for Section "Screen" .... then just change the DefaultDepth to 16.

Now ... Mandrake 10 is funny ... so after you reboot, edit the file again and make sure the changes took.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 30 2004, 07:18 PM
Post #11


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



says the fglrx driver doesnt support 16 bit and kicks me to the console

sad.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 30 2004, 07:27 PM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Good thing I said to backup the original file laugh.gif

I guess that the speed is what it is at the original setting....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wookmaster
post Jun 30 2004, 08:02 PM
Post #13


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 4-February 04
From: Michigan
Member No.: 2,290



well I dont have a way to play 3d games good yet, but I sure learend ALOT about the console trying to get X to work smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Jul 1 2004, 06:18 AM
Post #14


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



This link is worth reading.If you want to install ATI drivers.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2017 - 05:58 AM