Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rhl 9.0 Not Supporting Sata Hard Drive, Install Trouble
polar
post May 30 2004, 06:21 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 17-April 04
Member No.: 2,788



I am trying to install RHL 9.0 to my new sys. having Serial ATA hard drive. During installation it is unable to detect the hard disk.Please help.
tia,
polar


--------------------
Linux Enthusiast
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 30 2004, 03:31 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You will need to see if the motherboard manufacturer has linux drivers for the sata controller (of if you have a stand alone controller, see id the manufacturer has a linux driver).

What kind of controller (or motherboard) ... manufacturer and model ... do you have?

You might try FedoraCore2 or Mandrake 10 ... they support much newer hardware than does RH9.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polar
post May 31 2004, 07:37 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 17-April 04
Member No.: 2,788



My mother board is intel (original) 865GVF,Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz 1 MB cache,with Samsung 120 GB SATA HD.

Well i am not that comfortable with FEDORA CORE and I would like to install RHL. Please suggest.tia,
polar


--------------------
Linux Enthusiast
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 31 2004, 05:33 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I think you meant 865GBF ... there is no 865GVF listed (or maybe intel is a little behind getting the stuff n their site)..(they don't have any updated drivers ... but IBM supports Linux better than anyone, so they should have them first)

Look Here for what you have to do to do the install:

ftp://download.intel.com/design/motherbd/...edHat9_info.pdf

It says that you have to set it up to Run in Legacy Mode in the BIOS ... and that you are then limited to 4 total IDE devices ...

I don't know what impact setting that will have IF you already installed windows first.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
polar
post Jun 1 2004, 10:19 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 17-April 04
Member No.: 2,788



thank you for your reply,
i have installed fedora core 1 into the box.it installed succesfully.
there was not much trouble.

thanks again! smile.gif


--------------------
Linux Enthusiast
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 08:09 AM