Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake9.2, Can't Find Root Filesystem While Boot
bspotato
post May 29 2004, 09:03 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-May 04
Member No.: 3,059



I use Mandrake (ML) 9.2, Intel Celeon 800 MHz, 256 SDRAM, SeaGate 40G (at ide0).

ML was installed in /dev/hda7 (10 GB), use /dev/hda8 (1GB) for swap partition.

Because of some errors with Windows2000 in C:, I reinstalled Windows2000, but the same error appeared. At that time, ML works will. Several days before, I installed Windows Server 2003 to replace Windows2000. After the installation finished, I found the system loader (I use ML default loader, should be LILO) disappeared. Then I used the rescue in ML CD-1 to re-install loader. The loader appeared. I can boot windows, but while boot ML, something wrong happened:

While mounting partition, it failed. The system message is "can't find ext3 filesystem in id0(3,8)".

At first, I thought it's harddisk error. But I can use Knoppix and the console in ML CD-1 to mount /dev/hda7, read and write files in /dev/hda7. Later I checked /etc/fstab, it use /dev/hda7 for swap, and /dev/hda8 for '/'. I modified it, but the problem also exists.

Please tell me whether I missed something or there are something I should modified. Thanks.

Sorry for my poor English.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post May 29 2004, 10:19 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



So..did you do any changes in the file system during installtion..or just installed 2003 over the existing 2000.
Anyway it can be still worked out..What do you mean by ML bootloader is it Grub or Lilo ???


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bspotato
post May 29 2004, 11:04 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-May 04
Member No.: 3,059



QUOTE (gethemant @ May 29 2004, 10:19 AM)
So..did you do any changes in the file system during installtion..or just installed 2003 over the existing 2000.
Anyway it can be still worked out..What do you mean by ML bootloader is it Grub or Lilo ???

Thank you.
I didn't change anything about filesystem during the installation. The Win200 was installed in NTFS. The windows 2003 was installed with a NTFS fast-format of C:
I am not sure the loader is grub or lilo. It shows the loader should be lilo in Mandrake control certer.
Here is more information (I rebooted my PC just now and wrote it)
"....
RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
Freeing initrd memory: 300k freed
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem)
Mounted devfs on /dev
Red Hat nash version 3.4.43-mdk starting
Loading jbd.o module
Journalled Block Device driver loaded
Loading ext3.o module
Mounting /proc filesystem
Creating root device
VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev id0(3,8)
mount: error 22 mounting ext3 flag default
well retrying without the option flags.
VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev id0(3,8)
mount: error 22 mounting ext3
well retrying read-only without any flag.
VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev id0(3,8)
mount: error 22 mounting ext3
pivotroot: pivot_root (/sysroot, /sysroot/initrd) failed: 2
Remounting devfs at correct place if necessary
Mounted devfs on /dev
Freeing unused kernel memory: 156k freed
Kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel
"
The ML stopped booting here.

PS. I made a mistake with the red sentence above while copying it. I correct it now.

This post has been edited by bspotato: May 29 2004, 08:29 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bspotato
post May 29 2004, 11:30 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-May 04
Member No.: 3,059



The problem fixed. Thanks for help.

The cause is in my lilo.conf and fstab. The root partition in lilo.conf were pointted to /dev/hda8. I corrected them and I am posting this replay in my linux now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 11:10 AM