Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Debian 3.0 On Alphaserver, Problem booting from install CD
edge
post May 24 2004, 08:55 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,027



I am using SRM v5.4-113 (current) to boot a new installation of Debian 3.0 r1 from the CD-ROM on my newly acquired AlphaServer 800 5/400.

>>>boot dka400 -flags "mem=256m load_ramdisk=1"

(It doesn't seem to matter what flags I use, I always get a fatal error when the kernel is loaded). The first screen turns red and flashes so fast I cannot read any thing. The second screen is filled with info and only stays up for a few seconds, then it freezes on the third screen which says "Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address 0000000010 swapper(1): 0ops 0" followed by some kind of dump.

I am quite new to both Linux and Alha, so I am in a bit of a pickel and could use some help. Since the only thing I see is the SRM prompt (>>>) I cannot seem to even list directories or view the contents of files. YOur help with this matter is greatly appreciated.

edge
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edge
post Jun 1 2004, 01:20 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,027



Guess I reply to myself since it is fixed, and someone else may get stuck...

Woody r1 uses kernel 2.2. I saw in a usenet that some folks with this problem loaded the 2.6 kernel with no problem. I downloaded sarge and installed with no problem, well at least not *that* problem.

edge
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 1 2004, 10:44 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Sarge ROCKS!

woody is too old ....

sorry I couldn't help ... but I have never actually booted an Alpha server before.

(hey I have booted AT&T, HP, SUN, IBM and installed linux on each, just no DEC Alphas).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edge
post Jun 3 2004, 05:07 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,027



Not sure how great Sarge is for Alpha machines, since there are not a lot of drivers supported at this time. I've had some problems with my SCSI Controller, and have not yet been able to partition my HD. I've had others suggest installing Woody with kernel 2.4, but I would rather stick with Sarge. The thing is, I have to boot from SRM which only supports FDISK, not CFDISK which I believe is what the Debian-Installer uses.

edge
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Jun 4 2004, 09:49 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



sarge is pretty new, but, at least on X86, it is stable.

you might try woody with the 2.4 kernel ... and since you have a server, it might do very well for you.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
edge
post Jun 4 2004, 01:43 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 24-May 04
Member No.: 3,027



My plan is to use the server with thin clients attached, possibly running LTSP. This way they can surf and e-mail without worry of viruses. I believe sarge has some apps that are not included in woody that I may need.

edge
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 4 2004, 01:45 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



I've booted an alpha server before...

...yeah, i was at my old school, and i went into the storage closet to get something and stubbed my toe on some piece of junk on the floor....




har har


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 05:49 AM