Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Grub Problem, Grub
andy1974
post May 16 2004, 03:47 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



How do i go about repairing gub boot loader??.....when i reboot the system i get the grub prompt and thats it...i have to boot the system with a boot disk....any info would be great
blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 16 2004, 04:12 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Put in your CD for your linux distro, and type rescue at the boot command promt. (This should work on allmost any major distro) There should be an option somewhere for "restore boot loader" if you can't find that, find a copy of The Linux Rescue CD, that can do it to.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post May 17 2004, 07:39 AM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



ok i will try that i have fdora core 1 ...i guess it would be disk one of the distro
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post May 18 2004, 05:46 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



ok i put the disk in and booted to rescue and now i have a sh prompt....what do i type to reload the bootloader?
blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 18 2004, 09:37 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



You probally want to edit your "grub.conf" in /etc

I don't think you have to run a command after editing the grub.conf file, thankfully. smile.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 18 2004, 10:15 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



As long as grub is actually running, you only really need to edit the grub.conf file. You can mount the root partition and than fix what ever the error is and than reboot.

I don't know what the command is to re-install the bootload on a fedora CD. So I am sorry, I can't help you there. Can you press any of the function buttons to see anything more? Sometimes it will list things if you press a function button.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
andy1974
post May 21 2004, 07:26 AM
Post #7


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 24-February 04
Member No.: 2,454



well i found my problem, i upgraded my system from a 8gb drive to a 40gb drive. well i moved the 8gb which was master, i made it a slave and added the new 40gb to master...well i didnt restore the MBR on the 8 gb so the system was still sencing the OLD MBR :S wink.gif unsure.gif So i restored the MBR on the 8 gb drive and bam i am booting YAY
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post May 22 2004, 08:44 AM
Post #8


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



Never mind...sorry for replying late...

But you can always repair...grub in following two steps...

1.Edit your file grub.conf if you have made any change in the
configuration of file system.And make appropriate entry for that.
2.Enter command :-
# grub-install /dev/hda

assuming /dev/hda is name of your HRD disk.


And reboot your system.Enjoy!!!!! cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 07:54 PM