Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Partition
doki10
post May 15 2004, 11:57 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,898



Dear Reader,

I like to know what can I do in the present situation?
I have a HD of 120 Gb.
I have on it the next partition but has a problem to install
Linux (tried SuSE and Red Hat) because he ask for swap partition also
for the memory managing. I do not want lose any of the present data.
Drives:
C I have Win98 on 10 Gb.
D I have WinXP 10Gb
E Partition for installation program 10Gb
F Partition for data 10 Gb
G Partition for Linux 12Gb
H Partition for bigger data and reserve

Thanks in advance

Laszlo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 16 2004, 12:37 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I don't understand what your asking. You need to clarify what you want to do and what you are trying to do.

Do you have data on the linux partition you want to save? Or is it just space set aside for your linux install.

You are going to have to have a swap partition, I can't think of a linux distro that doesn't use a swap partition.

Come back and be more specific.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doki10
post May 16 2004, 03:58 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,898



Hello Lest0039,
Thanks for your amswer.
I have a Win98 and an XP Windoes system with a lot of data on different partition.
I had difficulty to add Linux on the HD that prepared earlier to Linux.
I did not wanted lose these datas on other partitions. .
But I solved the problem to add a smaller (slave) HD and that solved the problem.
I think two HD for the different OS it is a good solution.
I installed Red Had 9. Problem with the screen card and ADSL modem but will try
SuSE too.
Thanks again,
Doki10
Laszlo
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 16 2004, 04:06 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Problems with specific pieces of hardware are often not related to the distro, but rather to not having the right modules installed. Those modules (or drivers) can be installed for any system and will make the cards work correctly. Odds are, different distros are just going to run into the same problems.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 10:22 AM