Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Acpi For A Newbie
cflyguy
post May 12 2004, 09:13 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



i thought i knew so much about computers...then i found linux...
but thats a different thread, what i want to know is how to get Linux to recogonize ACPI functions on my toshiba tecra 8200, i've read some stuff, but it involves messing w/ the kernel, i'm a super neewbie and doing stuff like that scares me so if anyone would like to help that would be great.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 12 2004, 10:46 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



what distro of linux are you trying to put on your system and what kernel version are you using. If you don't know what kernel version your using type the command uname -r that will tell you.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 13 2004, 05:10 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



SuSE 9.0 Pro w/ KDE, kernel 2.4.21-215
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 13 2004, 05:23 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



http://www.buzzard.org.uk/toshiba/

I don't know if they work with SUSE.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 13 2004, 04:52 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



i think your right, when i try to install the 'toshiba tools' it keeps giving me an error, any other ideas, other patches?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 13 2004, 07:45 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



what error did it give you? Hit up goole with the key words toshiba tecra 8200 and linux and maybe ACPI and see what comes up, I got lots of tutorials on how to configure the systems. See if any of those are helpful.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 13 2004, 08:02 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



this is the error it gives me:

loading cache ./config.cache
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -s) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -s) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for X... no
checking for bison... no
checking for byacc... no
checking for flex... lex
checking for yywrap in -ll... no
checking for xmessage... /usr/X11R6/bin/xmessage
checking for wall... /usr/bin/wall
checking for yywrap in -lfl... no
checking for X... (cached) no
configure: error:
*** X libraries or include files not found. Check 'config.log' for
*** more details.

i think it is missing some files that it it expecting to be installed w/ the distro, but i can't figure out what it is missing. the only other ACPI hits i'm finding are for the project at sourceforge, and i'd need to update my kernel to use those, and i don't think i'm up for that unless i can get a good walk through or a installer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 13 2004, 08:13 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Load Yast ....

Go to Install and remove software

On the Filter dropdown box, select Package Groups.

Open Developement and then Libraries in the left Window and click on X11.

In the right window, check (or verifiy checked) XFree86-devel, XFree86-Mesa-devel, xforms-devel, gtk2-devel, qt3-devel...then install them.

Then try again and post any errors....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 13 2004, 08:24 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



WOW, HOW DO U DO THAT? this is why i swiched, the linux community is so much better, i'd spend a week going through KB articles looking for how to fix something like this in windows...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 13 2004, 08:46 PM
Post #10


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



now if only my printer would work, then yall really would be computer gods....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 14 2004, 06:54 AM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Glad you got it working smile.gif

Linux isn't that hard (If you have been doing it since 1995). I have a multiple boot test machine that has most of the major distros loaded (at least the lastest versions of them ... SUSE, RedHat 9, Fedora Core 1 & 2, Slackware, Gentoo, Debian, WhiteBoxEL, CentOS, Mandrake 9.2 & 10, FreeBSD 5.2.1) ... so I can usually load the OS and see the problems.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 14 2004, 12:56 PM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



off acpi topic but i need a printer driver, and its reall hard to find, b/c its a fairly new printer (HP PSC 2410xi) anyone know where to look?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 14 2004, 01:53 PM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I just flipped through the list of supported printers in Mandrake and it had the PSC 2400 but not the 2410 so this must be a really new printer.

Have you tried having your system auto configure it? It might be close enough to some of the other drivers that it would work (or at least mostly) untill new drivers come out, because I am not seeing any drivers.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cflyguy
post May 14 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #14


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,937



YaST found it and a 2200 series driver worked ok
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 10:46 PM