Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie: Can't Find Realvnc After Install
jkelley199
post May 12 2004, 08:26 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,936



Ok, I'm a total newbie at Linux. I know a few commands but not many. Anyway, I have installed RedHat9 as a third computer. I want to be able to control the desktop remotely since I don't have a KVM switch right now. Before I had WinXP on it along with RealVNC. I could take control of the desktop using that. So I went to the RealVNC website, http://www.realvnc.com/cgi-bin/3.3.7-vncform.cgi , downloaded and installed the program. Problem is.... I don't know where it put it.

Could someone please help me. I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 12 2004, 10:07 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I looked over the stuff quick, and Xvnc seems to be the command to get things started. You can try Xvnc --help or man Xvnc for more details on how to get things started.

If that doesn't work, how did you install it? RPM or source or what?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jkelley199
post May 12 2004, 10:44 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,936



Thanks for your help. But it didn't seem to work. Being new, I assumed I should bring up a terminal window and type the commands you recommended... which I did, and here is the responses I got:

[jonathan@localhost jonathan]$ Xvnc
bash: Xvnc: command not found
[jonathan@localhost jonathan]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost jonathan]# Xvnc
bash: Xvnc: command not found
[root@localhost jonathan]# man Xvnc
No manual entry for Xvnc
[root@localhost jonathan]# Xvnc -help
bash: Xvnc: command not found
[root@localhost jonathan]#

I did download the rpm then I double clicked and it seemed to install. But maybe that is my Windows way of thinking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 13 2004, 02:10 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



See if it didn't get added to the menu than if it was an rpm. Also try the command
/usr/bin/vncviewer
and see what you get, you can also go into the /usr/bin folder and look around for vnc viles. Just make sure you don't delete, rename or move anything.

If that isn't working than I have to ask are you sure you installed the rpm correctly and if you installed the right rpm for your system.

The problem with just double clicking on an RPM is sometimes it errors out and doesn't tell you. I always recomend installing RPMs from the command line. You can use the following command on almost any RPM package.
rpm -Uvh package.rpm
It will give you a print out of whats happening and any error messages. Go ahead and try it on this package, it will say package allready installed if you got it in there right, if you didn't, it will probabl actually tell you the same error and than we can deal with that. Good luck.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jkelley199
post May 13 2004, 01:11 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,936



Ok, here is what I came up with:

[root@localhost jonathan]# /usr/bin/vncviewer
bash: /usr/bin/vncviewer: No such file or directory
[root@localhost jonathan]# rpm -Uvh vnc-3.3.7-1.i386.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package vnc-3.3.7-1 is already installed
[root@localhost jonathan]# Xvnc
bash: Xvnc: command not found
[root@localhost jonathan]# man Xvnc
No manual entry for Xvnc
[root@localhost jonathan]# Xvnc -help
bash: Xvnc: command not found
[root@localhost jonathan]#


So it looks like it's installed, but where. I've looked in the menu and don't find it anywhere.
Thank you sooo much for your time and help!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 13 2004, 06:07 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



So,

What file exactly did you download ... and after you downloaded it, what did you do with it?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jkelley199
post May 13 2004, 06:28 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 2,936



hughesjr

Off this web site: http://www.realvnc.com/cgi-bin/3.3.7-vncform.cgi I downloaded this file: Redhat 7.3 RPM (.i386.rpm) (709K). It stored it at /home/jonathan and then I just double clicked it and it seemed to insatll.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 13 2004, 07:43 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



You should read the documentation on the websight because it should explain everything you need to know. As far as I can gather, there are a couple different VNC apps each one is started with a different command.

The server is vncserver followed by some modifiers
The viewer is vncviewer again with some modifiers

And so on, read the documentation, it should help you figuer anything you need to know out.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 07:39 PM