Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Apache Configuration File
mparker1113
post May 11 2004, 08:57 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 2,927



In book Apache Pro, I am told tat I can change the httpd.conf file, listing the ServerName as : www.alpha-complex.com.

I do not own such a domain name, but I have Listen settings set to 80 and 443 ( I was told to use 192.168.1.1: 80, and 192.168.1.1.443 but when I used those I wasn't able to connect to server at all. )

I changed my document root to /home/www/alpha-complex, in accord with the instructions, and put an index.html file in there.

The html file works if I go to http:localhost , or 127.0.0.1 in my browser. But doesn't work if I use www.alpha-complex.com.

I am using Apache 1.3.29

Can anyone tell me why I am not getting the page when I use www.alpha-complex.com ? And what I need to do to be able to get that to display.

Much appreciated.

Mike P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 12 2004, 06:49 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The Domain Name System (DNS) is how computers are named on the internet. Prior to setting up any services that you want to address by name, you have to obtain that name and have the Internet's DNS know about the name.

That is done by finding a domain name that you want, that isn't already owned by someone else, then obtaining the name via an official registar. (Like networksolutions.net, godaddy.com, etc.)

When you obtain the domain name, you will be asked the Name of a registered Primary DNS Server that will be controlling the hosts in your new domain name.

If you have a permanent IP address, you can register a DNS server Primary DNS server yourself and make it your Primary DNS server ... most people use already registered DNS servers.

Reguardless, the name you use in the server line in the httpd.conf is only telling the server what the domain name is ... you have to do all the things external to the apache server in DNS to make other computers point to that name. If you are running a test server, the name you should use in the httpd.conf file is the actaul name you gave the computer. You can find this name with the command uname -n.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mparker1113
post May 12 2004, 12:07 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 2,927



Thank you for the hosting review, I am pretty down with that as far as registering is concerned. Will need to determine how to port to my server, to get beyond being blocked by my ISP at some point.

When I use: uname -n , I get localhost.localdomain for a reply. Typing that in my browser brings me to the index.html file which is in my DocumentRoot directory.

Do you know hos I change my the name of the network, for instance, making it www.alpha-complex.com ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post May 12 2004, 02:31 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi

you can find that file in /etc/sysconfig

CODE
vi network


press i then change that localhost.localdomain to www.alpha-complex.com , then
press ESC, then type :w then press ENTER , then type :q and then
press ENTER.

Now type :
CODE
reboot


once the system is up and running again type:
CODE
hostname -n

again, and you should see www.alpha-complex.com


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mparker1113
post May 13 2004, 08:31 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-May 04
Member No.: 2,927



Cool --

Thanks Rob.

I will look to do that after I get back to my computer after the weekend.

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 01:03 PM