Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake 9.0, Login Problem Plz Help !
benhurism
post Jan 2 2003, 11:27 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 279

hello, im a newbie here and i would like to ask for help + advises regarding mandrake 9.0

1.ok, the problem is... after i successfully installed mandrake 9.0, it prompt me to input username and password. BUT during the installation process, i didnt create a user account but i remembered that at a point during the installation process, the menu ask me a password ( and i already put in my password ). May i know how can i login without a user account ? there is no icons at the users account. plz some one help me !!

2. Is there anyone that could give me some advises about mandrake 9.0 ? before this i use winxp i feel like to try other OS.

thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
willard1346
post Jan 2 2003, 11:37 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 271

Hello i dont know if this will answer ur question in full but, to create a user log in as root whos password is the one u entered durring the install prosess. Once u get in to the desktop bring up a shell and as a command type in [ adduser "username" ] then u should be asked for a password. If that does not work, try using a cntrl+alt+F1 and that might bring up a command promt for u to enter the password command. I use debian so i think it should work fine for you.

Will

+Quote Post
Corey
post Jan 3 2003, 07:48 AM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3