Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help With Java Virtual Machine, unable to get it to work
Venom
post May 8 2004, 02:15 AM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 1-May 04
From: Tampa, Florida. USA
Member No.: 2,872



This may be an easy one, but for me it has almost driven me insane. I have tried to install j2re1.4.2 without any browser detection. It seems to install fine using the downloadable RPM from Java. My problem arises after i run the rpm; I dont know what to do next, and the Java website is very difficult to understand.

running Fedora Core 1.

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 8 2004, 04:52 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What was the name of the RPM you installed?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Venom
post May 8 2004, 08:57 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 1-May 04
From: Tampa, Florida. USA
Member No.: 2,872



The RPM file was

j2re-1_4_2_04-linux-i586-rpm.bin
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 9 2004, 04:11 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I normally don't use the RPM for java, although that appears to be the correct one.

Here is what I normally do:

To install this way, you would need to remove your current rpm.

rpm -qa | grep j2re

remove the resulting rpm with the command (substitute the output above for rpm:

rpm -e rpm

Download the latest java from www.blackdown.org, HERE is the latest file right now.

After it is downloaded, do this to make it executable (all steps to take place from a terminal as root, inside the directory where you downloaded the file to):

chmod 755 j2re-1.4.2-rc1-linux-i586-gcc3.2.bin

Then run it like this:

./j2re-1.4.2-rc1-linux-i586-gcc3.2.bin

(press the space bar until the more dissappears and type yes to install)

You will get a directory called j2re1.4.2 that contains the Java Runtime Environment. We now need to move it to it's final place ... I use /usr/lib, so do this...

mv j2re1.4.2/ /usr/lib/

Now let's create a symbolic link to the name /usr/lib/java (which is where a lot of programs expect java to be) like this:

ln -s /usr/lib/j2re1.4.2/ /usr/lib/java

Now let's link the executable java file to /usr/bin so it is in our path like this:

ln -s /usr/lib/java/bin/java /usr/bin/java

Now let's see if we did everything right...issue the command:

java -version

If all went well, it will say:
java version "1.4.2-rc1"
Java™ 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build Blackdown-1.4.2-rc1)
Java HotSpot™ Client VM (build Blackdown-1.4.2-rc1, mixed mode)


Now we need to setup the web browser, I use mozilla and/or FireFox ... and this should work for both.

Link the mozilla plugin for jave to the mozilla plugin directory like this...

ln -s /usr/lib/java/plugin/i386/mozilla/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/

Now if you open mozilla, and Select from the Help menu item, the About Plug-ins, you should now see the java plugin installed....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Venom
post May 9 2004, 06:13 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 1-May 04
From: Tampa, Florida. USA
Member No.: 2,872



Dude! you have no idea how long I've read and followed directions to get this to work. Your way worked EXACTLY as you said it would! I think your reply should be a pinned item for the newbies like myself. Learning Linux will take time, but people like you make the learning process less stressful. Sometimes reaching a snag can hinder the ability to want to learn.

Thanks for your time, and for getting Java to work on my system.

Venom...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 11:50 AM