Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Redhat 9.0 And Network
viciousk
post May 6 2004, 11:59 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,899



I just installed Redhat 9.0 and I cant for the life of me figure out how to get it on the internet. I connect to the internet using a D-Link router and a Sis 900 ethernet card. The card has been recoginized by linux and i can ping myself (127.0.0.1) and nothing else, so the problem seems to be that it cant communicate with my router. Im not sure if this is relevent but i am dual booting with Windows XP, and the internet works fine on the windows part. Thanks for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 7 2004, 02:27 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What is the output of the command:

ifconfig

Does it say something like this:
CODE
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:07:E9:04:AD:1E
         inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
         UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
         RX packets:8991097 errors:18 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:18
         TX packets:10168175 errors:2 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
         collisions:371413 txqueuelen:1000
         RX bytes:3812289127 (3635.6 Mb)  TX bytes:239853257 (228.7 Mb)
         Interrupt:30 Base address:0x2040 Memory:fe9c0000-fe9e0000


lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
         inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
         RX packets:2956884 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets:2956884 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:215607073 (205.6 Mb)  TX bytes:215607073 (205.6 Mb)


127.0.0.1 is the loopback address ... you should have also an eth0 address from your router.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
viciousk
post May 7 2004, 04:40 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,899



when I type in ifconfig i tells me command not found just like if i had typed in jibberish. Do i need to be in a specific directory or did I not install some part of the distribution?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
viciousk
post May 7 2004, 04:53 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,899



Strike that last reply. When i use ifconfig i get pretty much the same thing as posted but the memory part is not listed and the base address is 0xa000. All the ip information included is what it should be.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 8 2004, 07:55 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What is the output of the command:

route -n

Should look something like this:

CODE
route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0           U     0      0        0     lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1    0.0.0.0             UG    0      0        0    eth0


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
viciousk
post May 8 2004, 11:01 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,899



The output of route -n is now exactly what is posted. still nothing. Still cant even ping the router.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 9 2004, 03:36 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try temporarily turning of the iptables firewall ... if that works, we might need to reconfigure the firewall.

/etc/init.d/iptables stop


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
viciousk
post May 9 2004, 12:35 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-May 04
Member No.: 2,899



For some reason of another, iptables stop didn't work as a command so what i did was iptables --flush which cleared out all the rules. This did not fix the problem. Hopefully i didnt make it worse by throwing out all the rules.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 12:09 PM