Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Question From A New Convert, question about linux networking
Paulkirkewalker
post May 5 2004, 09:51 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,891

hi there,

i am completely new to linux, in fact i have only just started looking into it. what i really need to know is this: can i connect microsoft windows workstations (all xp) to a linux server. my server is currently running microsoft server 2002 small business edition. i have 15 workstations and growing but would really like to make a break from ms now as the costs are really starting to grow in terms of licences. i'm not sure if switching the workstations to linux is really an option as the major use of the network is to share ms access 2002 databases.

what do you think? can i connect win xp workstations to a linux server? if i can, what distribution of linux do you recommend for this?

thanks,
paul.
unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
petterg
post May 6 2004, 03:21 AM
Post #2

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,890

Install samba (if it's already there, you'll just need to set it up), and your linux box will provide the same kind of filesharing as windows does - just that the linux is more stable.

Check out www.samba.org

+Quote Post
Corey
post May 6 2004, 06:16 AM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

In my home I have linux installed as a fileserver with samba running on it. Last night, I attempted to setup Samba to act as a Primary Domain Controller for the house so I was able to log into the domain via Windows clients. Here are some links that I found usefull:

http://www.samba.netfirms.com/
Samba-PDC-HOWTO