Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake Help With A Few Questions
beuy
post May 4 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 2,887



1. How do I change the lilo boot program to boot to my windows xp installtion? Below is the lilo.conf file outlining what I have tried to do, and it still boots to linux by default.

boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
default=NT
keytable=/boot/uk.klt
prompt
nowarn
timeout=100
message=/boot/message
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
ignore-table
other=/dev/hda1
label=NT
table=/dev/hda
image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=linux
root=/dev/hda6
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi quiet"
vga=788
read-only
image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=linux-nonfb
root=/dev/hda6
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi"
read-only
image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=failsafe
root=/dev/hda6
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi failsafe"
read-only

other=/dev/fd0
label=floppy
unsafe

2. How do I change my login session to KDE instead of ICEWm.

3. How do I change shortcut keys, my 2 key is currently set it " instead of @ (which is set to my " key) confusing no?

Ty for any help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post May 4 2004, 05:24 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

please do a backup of the lilo config file before you change stuff, I don't use lilo, but I bet that this will work.

default=NT

see this ? this means that the default is NT which is on /dev/hda

and there is a label linux which starts linux on /dev/hda6
CODE
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi quiet"
vga=788


so basicaly all you need to do in order to make it boot to linux by default is change that
default=NT
to
default=linux

as for the rest, well I'm writing from a WinXP computer and I'm kinda tired so please forgive me, I will look at it tomorrow , but most probably by then someone will surely answer the other 2 questions.

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beuy
post May 4 2004, 06:13 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 2,887



Ah ty for the help, but im trying to make it boot to !Windows XP! by default, even though I have changed it to NT it still boots to linux by default sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post May 4 2004, 07:13 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



So here is something thats really pissing me off with Mandrake right now. It doesn't seem to like it when you edit the files by yourself. Do this. Go to your start center and go System|Configuration|Configuer Your Computer than go to boot than boot loader just click next and it will alow you to see all your different boot option. Configure your windows one and select the defualt box. That should work for you.

Than in the same boot menu. Open up AutoLogin and you can change the defualt desktop.

As for the keyboard issue thats wiered. Is that the only mapping error? Make sure you have US set as your keyboard language.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beuy
post May 6 2004, 12:49 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 4-May 04
Member No.: 2,887



Ty for the help, I have fixed the auto login in and keyboard mapping problems (you where correct, it was the keyboard setting) But im still having trouble with lilo, it keeps saying it cant boot my win xp image. Im told grub is better, any help?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post May 6 2004, 06:51 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



From everything I read, your LILO setup is correct....

try the command:

lilo -v -v


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 08:43 PM