Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Redhat 9.0 Raid0 (stripe) Help!, software RAID0 issues with RedHat 9.0
lray
post Apr 29 2004, 01:45 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,852

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to linux, but have been a unix user for nearly a decade.

I am trying to setup a large file server/number cruncher using RedHat 9.0, kernel 2.4.20, on 2 160gb ATA-100 drives (no spare or extra drives).

I am trying to get a RAID0 array (as my only drive) to work on a fresh/clean install. I doesn't bother me if the RAID/IDE card is not supported by this kernel or distro as long as I can get RAID0 working in some form.

The catch is that I'd really like 1 big drive (i.e. 320gb). I'd like linux to partition these drives so that "swap", "/boot", and "/" span both drives with all of these partitions feeling the effect of the RAID0 striping.

In otherwords, I am not looking for swap to be one partition on one drive, and boot to be another partition on a single drive, and then stripe the remains.

I have purchased an SIL0680 ATA RAID card. RedHat 9 recognizes it as two separate drives even though the card's BIOS sees them as 1 large array. This hardware is currently lacking Linux drivers from SIL.

Is there any way to make all partitions span a RAID0 array and have it boot off of the array as well? and have swap there too? Another kernel, another distro?

I have read all of the HOW-TOs on RAID from: http://www.tldp.org/ but they really only discuss RAID1-mirroring issues. Or cheating RAID0 performance by booting off non-RAIDed partitions.

Thanks for anyhelp <!>
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 29 2004, 07:13 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151