Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Decision To Make
jester
post Apr 26 2004, 10:12 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 2,841



Hello,

I would like some assistance in a decision please.
I have 2 pc's. 1 decent and 1 is a bit oldish. I also have cable net. I currently connect both pc's through a cable router and they are NOT networked together, but can be on the net individually of each other.
My problem is this;
old pc consists of - Celeron 400, 192 mbRAM, 6gb HDD, onboard sound and graphics, 14in monitor + the standard stuff (kb, mouse etc). It is essentially a Compaq Presario 5346. I also have Win XP Pro on it!
The thing runs like a dog. The net is cable but it is soooo slow. I am guessing it is because i am using XP Pro on an old pc. What I want to know is, can i use a free linux on that pc instead? Will it make a difference in the speed of the net? All I want to do with it is use it for the kids (little) so they can play on the net. At the moment, the site they go to (barbie) runs slow and it makes the games they play there impossible to play.
I do not (at this stage), have any need for the 2 pc's to be networked together, just for them to be using the cable router to access the net (my better pc will be staying with windows for the moment sorry guys) .
The cable router is a Netcomm NB2800

Thanks
Jester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 26 2004, 10:36 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I well configured linux will run better on that machine than XP Pro, no question. You could very easily set up a system what would be able to run a browser such as Mozilla and go to any of the web pages and should run better than XP.

What I would recommend doing is picking something like Mandrake where you can limit the amount of stuff thats installed. You aren't going to need a whole lot.

I would definitely recommend using at most 9.2 and maybe as far back as 7.2 so you don't over tax that machine. Any of these versions can be downloaded from the net.

..../Mandrake-old/

The only issue with going back is you might run into some compatibality things. I guess my final recommendation is to try 9.2 or 8.2, and if those are still sluggish try 7.2.

You could also give something like knoppix a shot before you go installing it all and get a feal for what its going to be like.

Get Knoppix

Knoppix is a live distro, that means you can just put the CD in and run it with out installing anything. This will give you an idea of what linux will feel like on your system and how compatible your system is going to be right out of the box. The way knoppix will run will be similar to the newer versions of Mandrake.

To get knoppix up and running, make sure you use the boot command
knoppix lang=us
to get a us keyboard, it will be the first prompt you get when the cd boots.

Try that, and good luck.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 27 2004, 05:52 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Actually, mandrake makes a single CD boot product called Mandrake Move. You can try that first. Remember that it will be a little slow because it is using the CDROM like a hard drive (ie loading programs off it, etc.)...but you can see if Mandrake is going to work on this machine.

You can get mandrake move here:
ftp://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distribut.../move/9.2/i586/

Here is info about Mandrake Move:
http://www.mandrakesoft.com/products/mandrakemove

I don't recommend this for an everyday Linux solution, but it should be OK to see what linux does on your machine.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Apr 27 2004, 12:38 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Sorry, but I can almost guarentee bad results on your machine.

A 400mhz machine with onboard video will be unable to handle Gnome/KDE (or at the very least it will run horribly slow).

If you have a 16mb video card you could throw in, that would solve that though. You could probally pick up one from a computer store in your town for around $20-$30


Also, I doubt that Windows is the cause of your slow net connection.

You should try the following:

1) Visit www.downloads.com
2) Search for Avast
3) Download it, install, get the free registration key, and do the boot time scan it offers.
4) After reboot, go back to downloads.com
5) Search for ad aware
6) Install, see if there are any updates, run it.
7) After removing all spyware, you'll probally need to restart (to remove any that was running, and thus was unable to be removed)
8) Next, go to System Tools - Disk Defrag
9) Run that, it WILL take some time.

This is a much more elegant and time efficant solution than linux, and is quite simple. (Alot of steps, yes, but these programs do all the work for you).

This should not only speed up your net connection, but your entire system.

If you still notice a slow connection after that, call the cable company and have them come out. Those cheap bastards might have tried to use old existing wire in the house like they did for me. If you ask them, they'll usually replace it for free though.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:18 AM