Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Crontab Problems, I did something wrong, but what?
Robert83
post Apr 26 2004, 01:40 PM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

I've read the Crontab guide (even printed it out), BDC (BitDefender Console Edition) was working ok with RH9, and even works ok If I manually type in the commands in Whitebox EL 3.0

But when I try to run it with cron nothing happens.

Here is my cronjob file :

CODE
[root@thor home]# cat mycronjob
05 22 * * * /usr/bin/bdc --update
05 23 * * * /usr/bin/bdc --files / --all --disinfect --log=/home/virus.txt[root@
thor home]#


when I type
CODE
/etc/init.d/cron status

it reports that it's up and running

what did I do wrong here ? , I'm trying to run bdc every day at the specified time

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Apr 26 2004, 01:59 PM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



05 22 * * * root /usr/bin/bdc --update
05 23 * * * root /usr/bin/bdc --files / --all --disinfect --log=/home/virus.txt


Try that, so it will run as root. *shrugs*


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 26 2004, 08:24 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



or ... use the command:

crontab -e

(as root)

and paste in your original stuff...

look at the /var/log/cron file to see if it runs. sometimes you need to add a path statement in the top of scripts that run as crons (I don't know if bdc is a script or a binary file) ...

sometimes some files require a terminal to be passed in to run correctly .... so maybe this:

05 22 * * * TERM=xterm; /usr/bin/bdc --update


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 27 2004, 01:01 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

that root stuff did not work , it wont show up nothing in the cron log ,

bdc is a @bdc in /usr/bin/

it was working ok under RH9 with using crontab like that , but for whitebox it just won't work with cron,

what can I do?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 27 2004, 11:27 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi
this is how my mycrontab looks like ,

CODE

05 01 * * * TERM=xterm;/usr/bin/bdc --update
39 07 * * * TERM=xterm;/usr/bin/bdc --files / --all --disinfect --log=/home/virus.txt


and this is what is logged in /var/log/cron on the same computer
CODE


Apr 27 00:08:23 thor crond[1024]: (CRON) STARTUP (fork ok)
Apr 27 00:09:52 thor crontab[1168]: (root) DELETE (root)
Apr 27 00:09:56 thor crontab[1169]: (root) REPLACE (root)
Apr 27 00:09:59 thor crontab[1170]: (root) LIST (root)
Apr 27 00:10:00 thor crond[1024]: (root) RELOAD (cron/root)
Apr 27 01:01:00 thor CROND[1175]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 01:05:00 thor CROND[1177]: (root) CMD (root /usr/bin/bdc --update)
Apr 27 02:01:00 thor CROND[1181]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 03:01:00 thor CROND[1183]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 04:01:00 thor CROND[1185]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 04:02:00 thor CROND[1187]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.daily)
Apr 27 05:01:00 thor CROND[1408]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 06:01:00 thor CROND[1410]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 07:01:00 thor CROND[1415]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)
Apr 27 07:29:17 thor crontab[1727]: (root) BEGIN EDIT (root)
Apr 27 07:29:30 thor crontab[1729]: (root) DELETE (root)
Apr 27 07:29:34 thor crontab[1731]: (root) LIST (root)
Apr 27 07:29:37 thor crontab[1732]: (root) REPLACE (root)
Apr 27 07:29:39 thor crontab[1733]: (root) LIST (root)
Apr 27 07:30:00 thor crond[1024]: (root) RELOAD (cron/root)
Apr 27 07:36:29 thor crontab[1790]: (root) DELETE (root)
Apr 27 07:36:33 thor crontab[1791]: (root) REPLACE (root)
Apr 27 07:36:36 thor crontab[1792]: (root) LIST (root)
Apr 27 07:37:00 thor crond[1024]: (root) RELOAD (cron/root)
Apr 27 08:01:00 thor CROND[1797]: (root) CMD (run-parts /etc/cron.hourly)


the strangest thing is, that I've got 3 Bridge/Master Browser/Samba Server/Wins Server and on one of them (192.168.0.15), is working ok

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 27 2004, 06:38 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



It looks like the update ran at 01:05

Nothing happened at 07:39....

Try it again...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 29 2004, 07:17 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

well I was playing with it, and it seems it even runs the scan at the time, but give no log out, ...is there another good console antivirus software (opensource possibly) that I could use with Whitebox Linux?

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 29 2004, 05:42 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I like ClamAV ... that is what I use for my linux E-mail server to keep windows guys from getting infected e-mail and screwing up the network. I even have the 3 rpms compiled for whitebox ... here is a tar of the 3 files (untar it into a directory and do rpm -Uvh clamav-0.70-1.i386.rpm ... you probably won't need the other 2 rpms to just scan the PC ... but if you want to also scan e-mail into and out of a sendmail/post fix server, you can use the other 2 rpm's when setting up to do that):

http://www.hughesjr.com/WBEL/clamav-whitebox.tar.gz

I didn't install it to scan my hard drive, but it can do that too.

(As I said, the RPMs I provided for download are for WhiteBox EL ... you can get ones for RH9 here).

Here is the help:
http://www.clamav.net/doc/0.70/html/


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 07:41 PM