Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Redhat 9.0 And Sndconfig, where did it go?
fatfitz
post Apr 26 2004, 09:08 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 2,834



I am a newbie to Linux.
I was running Mandrake 9.0 and decided to switch over to RedHat 9.0 for trial basis.
Have an old deshutes pentium 350MHZ machine with a SB compatible sound card onboard mobo. With Mandrake, I just run the sndconfig RPM, and then went into a terminal and "sndconfig" and went through the process of setting it up and it worked fine. Now , Redhat is a different story. I run the sndconfig RPM in redhat and it runs, but when I go to a terminal and run sndconfig it says command not found. I have looked, searched, tried usr/sbin , modprobe, and cannot locate sndconfig anywhere,I have even run sndconfig RPM's from earlier redhats and mandrakes, and they just disappear? Nor is there any record of the RPM running. Whats up?
Did I miss something? I have spent 2 days looking for answers on-line, and everyone says, run sndconfig in a terminal, OK, but sndconfig will not run in Redhat 9.0. Worked great in Mandrake, what happen in Redhat?

fatfitz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 26 2004, 06:33 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Did you install the RedHat rpm? RPM files are different from system to system, and even version to version. If you tried to use the same rpm on your RedHat system that you used on Mandrake it wont work.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 26 2004, 08:17 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



on my redhat distro it is called:

redhat-config-soundcard

use it at the terminal....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatfitz
post Apr 27 2004, 10:44 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 2,834



Thanks People:

Yes, I have run the(redhat 9.0)(cd3) RPM from X and from CLI, both open a window and it looks like it is running normally, and then finishes it's process, then it's gone! No where to be found.

Yes, I have run redhat-config-soundcard command but all it brings up is the PNP program that looks for a
PCI device. Not an ISA legacy device.

This is so strange, because with Mandrake 9.0 it was wham bam thank you mame and it was done.

I am about ready to put Mandrake back in, at least it worked right!

Work on it some more, maybe.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 03:23 AM