Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stuck In Console, Help!
dragongeo2
post Apr 24 2004, 05:17 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-April 04
Member No.: 2,826



Alright, My story is that I'm running a virtual Linux computer (i don't think that has anything to do with my problem) and if you don't know what I'm talking about, it's just linux that runs on my computer, which also has windows, and they're both on the same partition. Ok, So one day, I installed Mandrake 10, and it installed fine, I went into KDE and had a good time, it worked fine! The next day, I decided I wanted to add some more video card power to my system (using third-party applications) so, I opened up the console (using the Control + Alt + F1 method and then I installed the software, and I restarted (I went back to KDE, using Control + Alt + F7 method first). Problem is, whenever I try to restart, the computer boots into the console with the message :
Welcome to Mandrake 10
logon to localhost: root
password : <my root password>
and then it gives me the regular console, and I hit Control + Alt + F7, but it won't let me back into the KDE desktop environment (it locks up) so How do I get it to go back into KDE?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dragongeo2
post Apr 24 2004, 07:30 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-April 04
Member No.: 2,826



WOW! i am the most noobish noob I know of, who knew all I had to do was use the "startx" command.
Thanks LinuxHelp!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 24 2004, 11:53 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



If you want it to start in graphical mode from now on you can edit your inittab file

Gain root privilage, than cd /etc and open the file inittab in your favorite editor. Change the following line

id:3:initdefault:

to

id:5:initdefault:

Save it and from now on when you boot up it will go into graphical by defualt.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th December 2017 - 10:20 AM