Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake Install Help!
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 21 2004, 09:05 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Ok, so I'm trying to install Mandrake Linux 9.2 on my Windows XP system.

Now, whenever it gets to the part where you select your hard drive partition, I need to make one on my drive, so I select the option to make one using free space on my Windows partition (Which is about 20% full)

When it analyzes it, it tells me that my hard drive is too fragmented to make a partition. So, I defragmented it. Still too fragmented. Defragged again. Still too fragmented.

What's wrong? Doesn't it work with my file system? (NTFS)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 21 2004, 09:11 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



It does work with NTFS although I have only ever personally tried it ounce. What I would recomend doing is a full system scan disk. That will find any errors in the disk tabels which is probably whats causing the problems, not the fragmentation. Try that and see what happens.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 21 2004, 09:11 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Thanks, I'll try that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 21 2004, 09:18 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Wait, how do you run scandisk in Win XP?

There's no taskbar thing for it, and I've tried run > scandisk.exe and no luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 21 2004, 10:29 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Fine, I will reboot and figuer it out. Give me a min, I know you can do it.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 21 2004, 10:35 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



The fastest way to do it so to open My Computer right click on the drive and go to Properties |Tools | error-checking

That will do it. Ok, quick check my web pages in IE for compatitbilty and I am out of here like, ok, lets try not to offend any one here.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 21 2004, 10:36 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Never mind, I googled it, sorry about that.

No errors, the drive is fine.

I'm just gonna use PartitionMagic to make a special Linux partition, so I don't have to use the installer's partition feature (Which I don't trust)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 21 2004, 11:25 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



good plan, don't bother making partitions for linux, just open up the space and let the Mandrake installer take care of it.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 22 2004, 01:51 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Yeah, that's what I plan to do.

On another note, can you point me in the direction of a good, (preferably free) NTFS patitioner? See, PartitionMagic, as well as the Mandrake Linux default partitoner, can't partition an NTFS drive properly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 22 2004, 02:23 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I don't know of anything other than Partition Magic. Norton Ghost might be able to, but I don't remember.

I think you are going to run into problems with what ever NTFS resize you try to use. If you can't get two to work, than your are likely going to not get any. I am guessing thier is something wierd with your drive in some way. Keep looking, you may find something, but I think you are going to run into the same problems.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 23 2004, 05:23 AM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Partition Magic 8 can partition NTFS drives with no problem....But if you have the drive setup as a Dynamic Disk, you might have problems.

I personally would recommend a seperate drive for Linux. (If you have an open IDE connector on one of your channels). A new 20-40 gb drive (7200rpm) is less than $50.00.

http://www.upgrade-solution.com/productlis...y=Hard%20Drives

(BTW, I don't own {or get any money from} upgrade-solution.com ... I just found them at pricewatch.com when looking at hard drives.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Apr 23 2004, 12:19 PM
Post #12


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Hard drives are too damn expensive (atleast small ones).

120 gig HDD - $64
60 gig HDD - $50
30 gig HDD - $41


See my point? smile.gif It's really more cost effective just to get a 120gig HDD (even if a smaller one is a little faster, which in this case it isn't).

Gah, if only more people sold used working 30gig HDDs. happy.gif

And I too can vouche for Partition Magic 8 on NTFS.

I use it constantly. Formatting, resizing, creating... it's all good. biggrin.gif I've only had one bad experience with it, and that was an older version.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 23 2004, 01:33 PM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I agree .... and I saw a 160gb drive for $90. If I was buying a drive, I would buy that. (and I recommend that).

But, my point is this ... you can get a small drive for $45. Some people don't want to spend more (or even that much) when they think they can dual boot.

However, one slip up and your whole other drive is gone ... for some people, that is worth much more than $45 or $90 bucks. Other people just wnt to dual boot. I personally wouldn't put linux and windows on the same drive.

For safety, a second drive is much safer. But, If you can't set the jumpers right ... or if you pick the wrong drive to format, you can still mess up the original drive.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pink Floyd 1337
post Apr 23 2004, 06:55 PM
Post #14


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 21-April 04
Member No.: 2,808



Well, a few days later, I got Linux working.

Had to buy a new version of PartitionMagic, I was basing my info on an old version (Pre - Windows NT. Yes, I know that's old.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 23 2004, 07:24 PM
Post #15


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Well ... that would not be able to do NTFS smile.gif (since it was invented for NT biggrin.gif )


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 02:10 AM