Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Enterprise Sun Question, Sun Blade 100 running Enterprise?
nifflerX
post Apr 19 2004, 03:03 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Hi,

Sorry for the very newbie question but I was wondering if a Sun Blade 100 can run Red Hat Enterprise? I'd be perfectly willing wipe the entire hard drive and start from scratch but I know there is stuff like SPARC versus x86 and other stuff that I don't entirely understand. Thanks so much.

One extra question, if Enterprise doesn't work, what would you suggest I try and run on the Sun Blade 100 if the rest of my network will be running Enterprise? Thanks again.


-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 19 2004, 06:26 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



We use Blade machines all over this campus, the indication I got from my buddy in tech is you can't put linux on a Blade 100 because there isn't a linux distro that will work with the SPARC configuration. Sorry buddy. As for what linux to use, someone else is going to have to pick that up.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Apr 19 2004, 11:06 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



you can get a distribution of linux to work its just a matter of which distribution is made to run on sun equipment...look around you will find one


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 20 2004, 06:21 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I haven't personally done linux on Sun hardware ... but:

Go LinuxISO.org and in the By Architecture sorting method, choose sparc.

The choices are RedHat 6.2, Debian SID, Gentoo 2004.0, SuSE 7.3, FreeBSD 5.2.1, NetBSD 1.6.1

Gentoo has 2004.0 sparc64 distro ... I don't know how well it works.
------------------------
Not supported by RedHat enterprise Linux ... here is a quote from thier site:
QUOTE
Support for seven architectures:
Intel X86, Intel Itanium, AMD AMD64 and IBM zSeries, iSeries, pSeries, and S/390


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nifflerX
post Apr 20 2004, 08:50 AM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Thanks so much for the replies. I'll give the ones at linuxiso.org a shot and see what happens. I'll let you know if anything works out well. Thanks again.


-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nifflerX
post Apr 20 2004, 11:50 AM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Hi,

I was thinking of installing gentoo, I've heard it's a good one and it's a place to start. But I was wondering if gentoo has something like apt-get or up2date or yum. I've used yum in the past and been very pleased with it, but it seems to be more of a red hat / fedora thing. I've read online a little about portage and I think that might be somthing similar but I'm not sure. Is portage what I'm looking for? Also, can I use yum, if so that'd be great. Thanks so much.


-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 20 2004, 05:36 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Gentoo has the portage system. It serves the same purpose as yum and apt ... except it downloads the source and compiles it. It resolves dependancies and installs items.

The command used to install programs with portage is emerge.

To install mplayer, for instance, you would issue the command:

emerge mplayer

to get all updates, it would be:

emerge -uDd world


About once a day, you should do:

emerge sync
(this downloads the latest versions of the portage tree)

Here are a couple emerge/portage references:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/hand...l?part=2&chap=2

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/portage-manual.xml

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/hand...l?part=2&chap=1

I am afraid I don't know anything about installing Linux on SPARC ... but here is the FAQ from Gentoo:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-sparc-faq.xml


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nifflerX
post Apr 21 2004, 07:55 AM
Post #8


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-November 03
Member No.: 1,751



Thank you so much!

-NifflerX
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 04:37 AM