Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Updating Fedora To Test Core 2?
kelme
post Apr 18 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-April 04
Member No.: 2,760



Can you update fedora to the test core 2 without reinstalling from scratch? If so, how? The only thing I saw on the fedora homepage was how to make bootable CD's. I've made those, but they don't boot. I've downloaded the ISO's two different times and checked the md5's. I know the data is correct so why isn't it booting form the CD? I apprectiate any suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 19 2004, 04:28 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

Upgrading is not reccomended, but it is possible by simply inserting the Fedora Core 2 CD1 and choosing update and it will install over the older Fedora Core 1 , MAKE SURE that all your config files are BACKED UP. [the ones that you modified , for example if you used samba then you should backup /etc/samba/smb.conf etc...]

Or [what is reccomended], install from scratch, backup your documents, and other personal stuff, your config files [which you modified] . [by the way, if you installed some modules for the Fedora Core 1 , they will not work with Fedora Core 2 [since it uses the 2.6 kernel, while Fedora Core 1 uses the 2.4 kernel] until you rebuild them.

It is your choice but installing from scrach would be RECCOMENDED [but the other can be used as well], since some files might not get updated properly, and other incompatibilites could rise after the installation with some programs. [imagine it like , upgrading from Win98 to WinXP, (since 2.6 kernel newer then 2.4) some of the programs already installed on Win98 will not work at all, others might work but not as they should be working, some settings during the update may not be aplied etc...]

THE ONLY THING YOU NEED TO MAKE SURE IS, BACKUP ALL YOUR STUFF !!! BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING TO YOUR SYSTEM.


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 19 2004, 06:50 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What OS are you using to make the ISOs. If using windows, are you using the Burn Image selection to make the CD?

If using Linux ... the command should be something like:

cdrecord driveropts=burnfree dev=ATAPI:0,0,0 filename.iso

(I am using a 2.6 kernel, so I have to use dev=ATAPI:x,x,x ... you probably need just dev=x,x,x. I also use the burnfree option ... your hardware may or may not support this option.)

Can you mount your CD? If so, is there one file on it (the ISO file) or a directory tree full of files?

Can you boot from another CD? If not, is you BIOS set to boot from CD before boot from hard drive?

Some of these questions are very basic ... I am just trying to cover all the bases.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You can also upgrade just by using up2date or yum ... but I wouldn't recommend it.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kelme
post Apr 24 2004, 01:45 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-April 04
Member No.: 2,760



sorry for the delayed response. i have been out of town. i'm using windows to burn the CD's. after i download the iso's i just change the extension to .nrg so that nero will recognize it. yes the CD mounts after fedora starts up and there are a bunch of files on it. and yes the bios is set to boot from the CD. what's the best way to format a drive for linux if my bootable CD won't boot? i don't mind doing a clean install if i could just get the test core CD to boot. thanks for the reply's.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 24 2004, 05:28 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Instead of renaming it ... do this:

In the File menu (older Nero) or in the Recorder Menu (Nero 6 or better) pick burn image and point to the ISO file (not renamed).

I have no problems booting from an ISO created from Nero.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 12:03 PM