Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ok, We Have Got To Get This Fixed..., take three
Jim
post Apr 16 2004, 12:40 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I have been trying to get Mandrake up and running on my friends computer now for months and I have never been able to get the network working which makes the sytem pretty much useless. Here is the current situation.

The box is running Manrake 9.2 with 2.4.22.36mdk. The mother board is a Soyo with a VIA chip set. Manrake 9.2 is suposed to have the rhinefet drivers for the VIA chip set prebuilt. So all you should have to do is run modprobe via-rhine to load the modules to get the network card working. Than running something like ifup eth0 should fetch the host name and IP and you should be off and running. Wrong.

So I decieded I would try to re-build the module. The driver I downloaded from www.viaarena.com have a pre-compiled rhinefet.o file that I should have been able to drop into the /lib/modules/kernel<version>/kernel/drivers/net folder and from a depmod -a to build it. However, the depmod -a gives me an "unresolved symbols in rhinefet.o" error so that doesn't work.

So I decieded I would try making my own rhinefet.o file to drop in. make shot me back so many errors my head spun.

------
So here is what I am thinking now. He also has a cheap generic PCI NIC card thats showing up as eth1. I am guessing it would be easier to just use that. So I tried configuring it, and turning off eth0 (ifcfg-eth0 file) and aside from speading up the boot considerably, it didn't help much.

So what I need is either someone to tell me how to get the rhinefet drivers working for the onboard NIC or how to make it go away and use the generic NIC. I have spent many hours on the problem playing with stuff and I am at wits end but this system is useless without internet. What should I do?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 16 2004, 06:51 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



First download and prepare the kenrel-source ... you said 2.4.22-36mdk ... did you mean 2.4.22-26mdk? Mandrake is messing with their FTP trees ... so most of the mirrors are hosed right now ...

once the kernel-source is in place ... link linux to it.

In this case, you would download and install the kernel-source-2.4.22-26mdk.i586.rpm and do
ls -al /usr/src

if no linux link to /usr/src/linux-2.4.22-26mdk, then make one like this:

ln -s /usr/src/linux-2.4.22-26mdk /usr/src/linux

then:

cd /usr/src/linux
make mrproper


edit the Makefile ... change the extraversion line to read the same as uname -r ... probably in this case:
EXTRAVERSION = -26mdk

then copy down the config file from the boot directory ...

cp /boot/config-2.4.22-26mdk .config

Then make the old configuration:

make oldconfig

then make dependancies ....

make dep

OK ... now the kernel source is prepared to compile modules ....

now change directories to the source code for the driver and follow the directions to compile it...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 16 2004, 11:29 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok, so had made progress I guess. I got through everything in your last post fine. Got it all set up. Got the rhinefet.o compiled. That went fine. Copied it over. Even ran depmod -a just fine.

Ran into problems when I tried to type modprobe via-rhine This is what it spat back at me.

QUOTE
lib/modules/2.4.22-28mdk/kernel.drivers/net/rhinefet.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information is sylog or the output from dmesg.
modprobe: insmod ...... failed
modprobe: insmod rhinefet failed


Just as an interesting note I tried to run ifup eth0 which used to just take a long time and than say done even though nothing had really happened. This time I got back

QUOTE
determining IP infromation for eth0 .../sbin/ifup: line 433: 10220 Segmentation fauld /sbin/zcip -s -i $DEVICE:${ZEROCONF_ALIAS_NUMBER=9}
failed


Don't really know what it means but thought it might be help full. Ok what now? Part of me is still really thinking we should ditch the rhinefet and try and use the PCI card.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 17 2004, 04:41 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



We could try that as well ... what kind of card is it.

Also, what is the southbridge on the VIA chipset for the motherboard?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 17 2004, 12:54 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



The second NIC card is a NetGear FA311, or at least thats what windows says it is, I didn't take the time to open the case and look on the card.

The VIA has a 8235 chip set on it. We are dinking around with his computer right now and I have had a few more ideas of things to try. So we will see what happens.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 18 2004, 08:35 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



as far as making the rhinefet driver, do this:

untar rhinefet.tgz file and go to the rhienfet directory (i downloaded the driver from here, untarred it, then untarred rhinefet.tgz)

do:

make
make install


then do:

modprobe rhinefet

check to see if rhinefet is loaded with:

lsmod | grep rhienfet

if it is loaded, then do:

/etc/init.d/network restart

you should be good to go with eth0, make this change to /etc/modules.conf

alias eth0 rhinefet

reboot the machine...

After you reboot, make sure that modules.conf is still:

alias eth0 rhinefet

for eth0...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 20 2004, 07:02 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I still get the same error when I type modprobe rhinefet

I do the make, the install and all and what not and copy it over. All good. Than when I type modprobe rhinefet and it still gives me

CODE
lib/modules/2.4.22-28mdk/kernel.drivers/net/rhinefet.o: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information is sylog or the output from dmesg.
modprobe: insmod ...... failed
modprobe: insmod rhinefet failed


Ya, I hate this sytem.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 21 2004, 06:14 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK ... sounds like it doesn't think you have that card.

Want to try the NetGear?

Goto Mandrake Control Center ... click on Network and Internet

select DrakeConnect, Select the eth0 in Lan Configuration and click the Configure Local Area Network button ... then set activate on boot to no, and select de-activate.

For eth1, set it to activate on boot yes and for dhcp.

Reboot with the netowrk cable plugged into the Netgear...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 06:41 AM