Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing Wlan Realtek Rtl 8180, need help with Wlan pls
daBaboon
post Apr 14 2004, 08:35 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,778



hi,

i am very new to lunix (1 day), and i am trying to learn smile.gif

i downloaded the driver needed for RTL 8180, and it says in the README file:

< Installation >
Please try to load linux_24x.o first by "insmod -f rtl8180_24x.o".

but i have no idea where to put that command, could someone please let me know how to handle this from scratch
i am using RH Fedora.

thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 15 2004, 05:50 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Open a terminal window. In most distros, that would be on the Menu - System Tools - Terminal ... If you are not currently logged in as the user named root, you must become the root user in the terminal window with the command:

su - root

enter the root user's password that you created when you installed linux.

If you don't know what your current user is ... type the command:

whoami

If you logged in as another user at the main prompt, then the root user is only logged in at the terminal window ... all the other items launched from the menu will be opened as the main user ... anything launched from the root terminal window will be launched by the root user.
---------------
Once you are root in the terminal window, you can follow the instructions....

If you need any more help, please point me to the file you downloaded the drivers from and tell me your Linux Distribution and Version.....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daBaboon
post Apr 15 2004, 09:36 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,778



i did what you said, thanks, but it didn't really work:i got the following:

Warning: kernel-module version mismatch
/home/kyng/MyPrograms/rtl8180/rtl8180_24x.o was compiled for kernel version 2.4.20-8
while this kernel is version 2.4.22-1.2179.nptl
Warning: loading /home/kyng/MyPrograms/rtl8180/rtl8180_24x.o will taint the kernel: forced load


the site i got the driver from is:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downlo...px?Keyword=8180
which the latest version on the site is: Linux kernel 2.4.20 (gcc version 3.2.2)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 15 2004, 09:53 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

you have the wrong kernel source then,

please use apt-get install kernel-source
and chose the correct kernel source

uname -r to see your kernel version

apt-get install kernel-source#(uname -r kernel version here)

and compile it again from source

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daBaboon
post Apr 15 2004, 11:01 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 14-April 04
Member No.: 2,778



i have to type, "apt-get install kernel-source" in the terminal?

i am logged in as root
when i do that i get, "-bash: apt-get: command not found"

thx
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 15 2004, 11:05 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

download this file : http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/fed...0.1.fr.i386.rpm

to /home

cd /home
rpm -Uvh apt--0.5.15cnc3-0.1.fr.i386.rpm
apt-get update
apt-get install kernel-source#(your kernel version here)

optional [if you have fast internet connection] : apt-get dist-upgrade [will upgrade all your packages to the latest version]

Yes, you type all these command in a terminal.

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 10:55 AM