Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Remote Desktop
aargh
post Apr 10 2004, 03:36 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,500



Hi. I am new to Linux. Maybe this is a trivial question but I hope someone will help me out.

I have installed Fedora Core on my home computer. I want to access it with my laptop (also running Fedora). I have used the 'rdesktop' to log in and control a windows computer. How do I connect to 'from linux to linux' seeing the desktop and how do I do it just seeing a terminal window?

Hope you can help me out:-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 10 2004, 08:24 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Linux most commonly uses ssh to log in remotely from computer to computer. This will allow you to log in from one command line to another. From there issuing commands will be just like issuing commands on the host computer.

I don’t know about being able to “see the desk top” like remote desktop. However, you can run graphical programs if you have it set up correctly.

Now about setting it up, that’s not my specialty. I would try to help you but I wouldn’t be of much help. Some else who knows ssh will help you get started. I just wanted to write back so you didn't think you were being ignored.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 10 2004, 08:29 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Linux most commonly uses ssh to log in remotely from computer to computer. This will allow you to log in from one command line to another. From there issuing commands will be just like issuing commands on the host computer.

I don’t know about being able to “see the desk top” like remote desktop. However, you can run graphical programs if you have it set up correctly.

Now about setting it up, that’s not my specialty. I would try to help you but I wouldn’t be of much help. Some else who knows ssh will help you get started. I just wanted to write back so you didn't think you were being ignored.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deadwood
post Apr 10 2004, 11:48 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-April 04
Member No.: 2,756



I agree that ssh is the way to obtain command line control on a remote computer. In a terminal, simply type "ssh 192.168.0.1" except the target ip address for 192.168.0.1. You can run graphical programs if you have a fast, local network connection, by typing the program to run, usually. For example, type "xclock" when logged into the remote computer should display the clock program on your computer even though it is running on the remote computer. If this doesn't work, you'll want to tell us and request more help.

Viewing a complete remote desktop, with the desktop icons from the remote computer, is a bit different. For starters, I don't know of a way to see a desktop that is already running on the remote computer. For controlling a complete desktop, I prefer vnc. You run vncserver on the remote computer first, and can be done from the command line. Then you run "vncviewer 192.168.0.1:1" on the client computer, where the :1 means which display you'll be attaching to on the remote machine (in this case 1).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Apr 11 2004, 05:14 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



its is very possible to view desktop of another linux system...
take a look at the startx command and the desktop command

i have used it before but since i dont run X on my server...i dont
remember the command syntax off hand....but yes its possible
and easy to do...its one simple command you have to enter


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 09:01 PM