Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Partition In Linux, A question of how many and how big.
Nun-Ya
post Apr 3 2004, 12:58 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-April 04
Member No.: 2,703



I am not sure this is the right place to post this but I have a couple of questions regarding Linux swap partitions.
1: What is the maximum size allowed for the Linux /swap partition?
2: How many /swap partitions is allowed under Linux?
3: Can you tell me when these changes were made? i.e. in which kernel release?
Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 3 2004, 01:44 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I don't know what the Max is ... but I have used (2) swap partitions of 1 gb each with redhat 9, suse, fedora core 1, slackware, whitebox,debain sid, mandrake 9 and mandrake 10.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Apr 3 2004, 04:37 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



The minimum size of a swap partition should be twice your size of RAM..But certainly there is no such restriction for maximum size...


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 3 2004, 07:01 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

for 512MB ram 1024MB Swap highly recomended
for 256 ram 512MB swap highly recomended

but ....in theory ,if you use memory intensive aplications...

for 256 ram 1024MB swap ...


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Apr 3 2004, 07:11 PM
Post #5


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



No...i object..if you have 256mb of ram you need not to have 1024mb of swap..Rather i will say that as you increase your amount of physical memory,the need of swap memory is reduced....I mean a inversely proportional relation..

Have you ever seen more than 100mb of swap used..(well we manage a linux server in our college that has 2gb of ram and 1 gb of swap..but i have never seen it using more than 100mb of swap)


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 3 2004, 07:34 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I try really hard not to have any swap space in use ...

I would agree that the optimal solution is to add more memory to your PC if you are using lots of swap space. Using swap causes the whole machine to be very slow.

But, on a large hard drive I normally just add 1gb of swap space reguardless of memory size (you don't need more than 1GB swap even if you have a machine with 3gb of RAM). If I am installing on a really small hard drive (8 gb or less) I will to 2xMEMORY up to 1gb of swap...

On one of my machines, I had a leftover 1Gb partition in the middle of the extended partiton ... so I created a second swap space of 1Gb ... to see if I could. So that multiboot machine has (2) 1 gb swap partitions.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nun-Ya
post Apr 7 2004, 07:35 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-April 04
Member No.: 2,703



Thanks or your help, guys but after posting the question, I went digging for about three days looking for an answer. I know in the earlier kernel release, i.e. around 2.0, the maximum size of the swap partition was limited to 127MB and the number of partitions were limited to either 16 or 17. "Mad Dog" said so in his Linux For Dummies book. However after further research, chasing down a couple of links over at linuxquestions.org and elsewhere, I have discovered the correct answer to be, and this is after kernel 2.4, a maximum of 64GB per partition and the number of partitions to be 32.
Whee, that is a lot of hard drives!
Once again, thanks for your help. I really appreciae it.
FredMT
MI, USA
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 7 2004, 08:57 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The max partition size for a 2.4.x kernel depends on a lot of factors (processor type, file system, etc.) ... but the smallest max partiton size is 1 TB .... (that is terrabyte). But the normal posted limit is 2 TB. See this link and this link.

I have a 115gb partition on my gentoo MythTV box. It is a 2.6.4 kernel, but I was able to mount, use and see all of this ext3 partition with a 2.4.25 kernel.
---------------
The max swap size that can be used in an i386 arch is 2 GB. You can use more than one swap area at a time, so you could use more than 2 GB.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 06:26 PM