Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie Question
Glenn
post Mar 30 2004, 07:16 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,677

I just installed Mandrake 9.2 it partitioned my drive into 3 parts 2x ext2 and the swap

Why did it split the space and how do I use the second logical drive?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
lesio1974
post Mar 30 2004, 08:11 PM
Post #2

I Eat C Code for Breakfast

Member No.: 2,544

Hello

I am new to Linux but let me try to answer you. Anyone is welcome to comment on this reply and correct if necessary.

First ext2 partition is your Linux root partition and it is required to succesfully run Linux. What goes in there? All system files and applications that are necessary for Linux to function.

Swap is like Windows page file, kind of virtual RAM memory on your hard-drive. When you run a lot of applications at the same time or process a memory-intensive files (image, video or sound but not only) RAM may fill up completely and then Linux starts storing data in the Swap partition. Reading and writing to Swap (and page file in Windows) is much much slower than using RAM, so it never hurts to have quite a lot of RAM installed. Swap is a separate partition because you do not want to mix users' files with whatever system stores in Swap.

The other ext2 partition that was created is called /home and that is where Linux stores all users' data files(images, MP3s, downloaded files, etc.) When you create a user in Linux, the system adds a new directory in the /home partition named the same as the user you created. This way data files for different users are kept separate and make it easier for them to find their stuff.