Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nvidia And The 2.6 Kernel
Jim
post Mar 28 2004, 09:40 PM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



So I decieded to try to upgrade to Mandrake 10.0 and now am stuck because I relized a little to late that nvidia doesn't have drivers for the 2.6 kenrel yet. So this leaves me with two options. One see if someone else has them? Anybody know? Or two, patch it from the source code which I tried, and was unable to do because the readme files that nvidia provided were worthless.

So anybody know anything?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 28 2004, 09:46 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I am using NVIDIA drivers on the 2.6 kernel.

The latest version ... 5336 ... has 2.6 support:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_display...2_1.0-5336.html

Instructions:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x...1.0-5336/README

----EDIT----
I am going to try to do the install on Mandrake 10 (which I haven't done yet). If it goes well, I'll post how I did it.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 28 2004, 11:02 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



OK ... I had problems with the install ... but I finally got it.

First, there are lots of updates to Mandrake 10 ... get all the updates like this (everything is a command line entry as root):

urpmi.removemedia -a

Then add the media for updates like this:

CODE
urpmi.addmedia Disk_1 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS with ../base/synthesis.hdlist.cz

urpmi.addmedia Disk_2 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS2 with ../base/synthesis.hdlist2.cz

urpmi.addmedia Disk_3 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS3 with ../base/synthesis.hdlist3.cz

urpmi.addmedia update_source http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake/updates/10.0/RPMS with ../base/synthesis.hdlist.cz


(each group is one single line, if it wraps on your screen)

Now do:

urpmi.update -a

urpmi --auto-select

After the updates are all done, do:

rpm -qa | grep kernel

If the result is:
[root@localhost root]# rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk


then you have the latest kernel and kernel-source....if not, download the one(s) you need like this:

CODE
wget http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS/kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm

wget http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS/kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk.i586.rpm


(if you require an smp or other special kernel, get it here).

Now, if required, update the kernel and/or kernel-source with the command:

rpm -Uvh file1 file2

Boot in console mode (or type init 3 as root from a terminal window)
---------------------------------------
Now that all the updates are done, install like this:

1. Go to the Directory that contains NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run and issue the command:

./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run --extract-only

2. Now go to the extracted directory:

cd NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1

3. Now install the driver:

make install

4. Edit the file /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 if it exists ... if not edit /etc/X11/XF86Config. In my /etc/X11, both files exist ... but only XF86Config-4 is used in that case.

5. In XF86Config-4 make sure Load glx is in the Section "Module" section and change the driver in the Section "Device" for the video card to:

Driver "nvidia"

6. You should now be able to startx


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 30 2004, 01:21 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Man did it take a long time for all the updates to install. Wow, ok, so I finally finished that, got the packages downloaded. I had to change the permission on the file to get it to extract I used the command

CODE
[root@]chmod 755 NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run


To do that, than I was able to extract it. Than I ran into problem. when I ran make install I got the error

QUOTE
Unable to determine kernel version


So I punched in uname -r wile I am writing this post and was much suprised to see 2.4.22-26mdk pop up on my screen. My lilo was a mess after the mandrake 10 install so I must have booted into the wrong version. So I rebooted, found my 2.6.3-4mdk kernel and gave it another shot. Same problem.

I have the kernel source installed, but when I ran that command to prove it I also had a bunch of other stuff, all my old kenerls and sources. Is that whats confusing it? there is a linux folder thats links some where, I think its to the 2.6 kenel but I could be wrong.

Ok, so now what?

*fireworks and baloons as I make my 100th post *


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 30 2004, 04:58 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



urpmi doesn't specifically do the kernel ... it does everything else.

Do
CODE
wget http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake-devel/stable/i586/Mandrake/RPMS/kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm


(all one line ... a space between wget and the http: )

then do:

rpm -Uvh kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk.i586.rpm


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 30 2004, 05:24 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Now do the command:

rpm -q kernel-source

The result should be:

kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk

There may be some others as well...

go to /usr/src

do ls -al

see where linux is pointing....if it doesn't say this:

linux -> linux-2.6.3-7mdk/

then do:

rm linux

then

ln -s linux-2.6.3-7mdk linux

Now do:

rpm -qa | grep kernel

if these are present in the results:

kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk


Now go to /etc, then edit lilo.conf

inside there, you need an entry similar to this:
QUOTE
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-7mdk
label="2.6.3-7mdk"
root=/dev/hdb1
read-only
optional
vga=788
append=" devfs=mount acpi=ht resume=/dev/hda3 splash=silent"
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.3-7mdk.img


You would make your append line just like your current linux section ... and your root and resume might be different (you might not even have a resume).

If you have any changes, after you finish, run the command:

lilo

When booting, select the new kernel...

If everything works, go back into lilo.conf and make:

default="linux"

be:

default="2.6.3-7mdk"

(or whatever you made your label be for the new kernel)

After booting on the new kernel, you can go back into the NVIDIA directory and rerun make install


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 30 2004, 04:17 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Still running into the same problem. So here is everything you may need to know.

I did the wget command and everything ran smooth, unpacked and installed it and everything.

here is some exerts from my command line to show you wants happening...
CODE
[root@x84-99-17-dhcp /]# rpm -q kernel-source
kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk
[root@x84-99-17-dhcp /]# cd /usr/src
[root@x84-99-17-dhcp src]# ls -al
total 20
drwxr-xr-x   5 root root 4096 Mar 30 00:13 ./
drwxr-xr-x  12 root root 4096 Mar 28 13:57 ../
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root   16 Mar 30 00:12 linux -> linux-2.6.3-7mdk/
drwxr-xr-x  20 root root 4096 Mar 30 00:12 linux-2.6.3-7mdk/
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root 4096 Jan 23 22:17 nvidia/
drwxr-xr-x   7 root root 4096 Feb 25 07:00 RPM/
[root@x84-99-17-dhcp src]# rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk
kernel-2.4.22.10mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-2.4.22.26mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-enterprise-2.6.3.4mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-enterprise-2.4.22.10mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-2.6.3.4mdk-1-1mdk
kernel-2.6.3.7mdk-1-1mdk
[root@x84-99-17-dhcp src]#

my excert from lilo.conf file this is my defualt and the one I am booting into

CODE
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.3-4mdk
    label="Linux_2.6.3-4mdk"
    root=/dev/hdb6
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.6.3-4mdk.img
    append="devfs=mount acpi=ht splash=silent"
    read-only



So what now?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 30 2004, 04:24 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ha screw, so I realized whats wrong wile I was looking over the stuff in my last post. I am booting into the wrong kernel. I wasn't booting 2.6.3-7mdk I was going into -4mdk. Ok, it just installed. Now we have to see if the dual monitors will work.

And we are golden. Thanks a lot man. I would have never gotten through that all on my own. You do wonderful things. Thanks again.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 30 2004, 04:26 PM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok, so now I have a new question. So now it apears that I have all these extra kernels lying around that I will never go back and use. What do I do with them? And whats the differnence between things like 2.6----- and enterprise.2.6------?


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 30 2004, 04:35 PM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

about the extra kernels lying around , well If you're satisfied with you're current kernel you can get rid of the rest

type in a terminal :

rpm -q kernel

then

rpm -e kernel_version_wich_you_want_to_delete


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 31 2004, 06:00 AM
Post #11


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



And if the other kernels are there (some files didn't go away after the rpm -e) you can delete them by hand.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 20 2004, 11:51 PM
Post #12


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Back from the past. So I am trying to update my system again and since mandrake redid all its mirros I can't figuer out how to get the urpmi commands to work. This is what I tried

CODE
urpmi.addmedia Disk_1 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.0/i586/Mandrake/RPMS with ../base/synthesis.hdlist.cz

urpmi.addmedia Disk_2 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.0/i586/Mandrake/RPMS2 with ../base/synthesis.hdlist2.cz

urpmi.addmedia Disk_3 http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/devel/10.0/i586/Mandrake/RPMS3 with ../base/synthesis.hdlist3.cz


it seems to go but nothing updates, and I know there is stuff to get since this is a fresh install. What should I be doing? I am not entierly familiar with this form of up-dating, but I tried.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 21 2004, 06:43 PM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



also add:

CODE
urpmi.addmedia update_source http://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrakelinux/official/updates/10.0/RPMS with ../base/hdlist.cz


Then do:

urpmi.update -a
urpmi --auto-select


It should work ... but there are some issues while the 10 Final is being released. It should be available sometime in early May.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Apr 21 2004, 06:46 PM
Post #14


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I was just comming back to say I got it to work. I need to slow down before I start posting.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 03:37 PM