Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Unable To Save Network Configuration
itsupport
post Mar 25 2004, 09:38 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-March 04
Member No.: 2,647



We have a new server that was preconfigured by another company. We booted it up and logged in as root which at the time never had a password. We have added a password, but when we goto the GUI and enter new network config details to add it to out network it fails to save. When we click apply within the network config area it does nothing and when we press close and select yes to save it screen just goes back to the network config screen but does not save the static IP address. Is this a security problem or something else? root should be the admin username should it not? it is redhat version 7.2.

Any help would be great.

Thanks,

Craig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 25 2004, 09:46 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi

you can change the ethernet configuration permamently and no so complicated


here

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
.
.
.
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth1,2,3,... etc...

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
itsupport
post Mar 25 2004, 10:30 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-March 04
Member No.: 2,647



Hi Robert,

Many thanks for your reply. I have found the files you mentioned. Do you have any examples of the commands we should put in there to set the ip address, subnet mask and default gateway etc.

Thanks again,

Craig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 25 2004, 02:41 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



CODE
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Ethernet


or

CODE
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=static
BROADCAST=192.168.1.255
IPADDR=192.168.1.2
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
NETWORK=192.168.1.0
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Ethernet



and in the file /etc/sysconfig/network put these:

CODE
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=computername.domain.com
GATEWAY=192.168.1.1

----------------
My example has a computer named computername.domain.com with either a DHCP address ... or with the static IP of 192.168.1.2 on the 192.168.1.0 network with 255.255.255.0 subnet mask and a 192.168.1.1 gateway.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
itsupport
post Mar 26 2004, 09:05 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-March 04
Member No.: 2,647



Many thanks for the reply. We will give this a try. Anyone any ideas why the network config in the GUI would not save?

Thanks,

Craig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 09:24 AM