Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Usb Mp3 Player/flash Drive, Usage questions
Termina
post Mar 20 2004, 11:29 PM
Post #1


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



1. Is there a way to "auto-play" it? So when I connect it to my PC, It mounts it and pops up a folder of "/mnt/sda1" (orwhatever)

2. Is there a way so that when I delete something, it goes to my /hda4 trash, instead of the /pda1 trash? So it frees up space on the flash drive, yet I Can always recovor it later.


Um, thanks! smile.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 23 2004, 11:37 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



*Bump* biggrin.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Mar 23 2004, 12:47 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



What distro are you using? Because I use Mandrake 9.2 and my pens mount automaticaly. Its the unmounting that I have problem with.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 23 2004, 03:50 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Slackware. XD


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 24 2004, 06:38 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



What you want is called supermount. You would need to add the supermount patch to your kernel, recompile your kernel and then change your /etc/fstab to use supermount.

There are claims that supermount is not completely stable ... it has been around forever and not included in the official kernel (although Mandrake does include a version of it in their kernel).

I have used it in Mandrake and never had a problem ... I have not ever used it in slackware (...edit, UNTIL NOW).

If you want to try it, you can get a supermount patch here that is written for the 2.4.25 kernel. I applied it to my slackware kernel and it worked.

If you are interested in doing this for your slackware kernel, here is what to do.

If you haven't already done it, copy your current .config file in your in /usr/src/linux-2.4.25 to /boot like this:

cp /usr/src/linux-2.4.25/.config /boot/config-ide-2.4.25

If you haven't done any kernel makes since the last time when we built your kernel, this will be easy ...

Download the above supermount patch for the 2.4.25 kernel.

untar the patch and move it to /usr/src/linux-2.4.25

Apply the patch to the kernel like this:

cd /usr/src/linux-2.4.25
patch -p1 < 020-supermount-1.2.11a.diff


If this completes without error (it should) then rebuild your kernel with these commands:

make oldconfig

(when asked about supermount, pick y and press enter)

make dep

make bzImage

make modules

make modules_install


Copy the new kernel, config file, and System.map into place:

cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-ide-2.4.25

cp .config /boot/config-ide-2.4.25

cp System.map /boot/System.map-ide-2.4.25


I then edited my /etc/fstab to make my cdrom use supermount...

I remarked out my current cdrom line:

#/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,ro 0 0

then added this line:

none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/cdrom,fs=iso9660,--,exec,ro,owner,umask=0 0 0

If you post the command that you use to mount the mp3 player and post the results of mount after it is mounted, I'll give you the mount line to use in /etc/fstab to see if it will supermount.
------------------
I had to recompile my NVIDIA driver after making my new kernel ... so... you may need to recompile some or all of your ati, nvnet, or nvaudio drivers.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 01:24 AM