Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't Seem To Configure My Soundcard! No Sound!, Soundcard: Creative Vibra 128PCI
fahdaziz
post Mar 18 2004, 09:41 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-March 04
From: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan.
Member No.: 2,611



Can anyone help me out configure this soundcard under my Windows " Creative AudioPCI (ES1371,ES1373) (WDM) " on a Slackware distrobution? sad.gif
Thanks!

Fahd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 26 2004, 10:14 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Hey, do you still have the original CD? Many times the CD will contain linux drivers.

Have you tried going to the companies website? (I went to creative.com, didn't find anything... but perhaps you will).

I don't see a "Creative AudioPCI" on the site, nor do I find ES1371 or ES1373.

Is this a SoundBlaster?

Update:
http://www.alsa-project.org

Go there, see if that site helps at all


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
familymann
post Apr 15 2004, 01:54 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-April 04
Member No.: 2,779



Go to command prompt, type "setup"

choose the sound card configuration.

Play around with the default "generic" drivers, sometimes you will get lucky and one will work.

Also, there should be a generice windows "ad lib" driver included within this list so look for that.

Try the "sound blaster" or "sb" driver within this program. May work. I can assure you that one of these drivers will work. Play around with the IRQ settings as well. The Distro you are using sometimes cannot probe the sound card as well as others I have used.

Hope this helps....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 12:51 PM