Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fedora Core 1
Robert83
post Mar 17 2004, 09:26 AM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

after 16 hrs of reading book's about RH Enterprise Linux, drinking cofee , and smoking cigarettes...I finally downloaded Fedora Core 1, installation was a success with no problems at all, I like the new design, blue is better for my eyes then red smile.gif , there was only one minor bug , once I've entered the setup after the installation [wich comes up automaticaly after installation + reboot ], the mouse stopped responding and I had to do everything with keyboard, after the setup, once Fedora started up everything was back to normal.

Questions :

Sound was detected by default as nvidia, but aint working...I will then install the nvidia drivers...if that is ok ?

I guess I would first be starting out with yum update... or can I use apt-get to? , since here I can use both right? I don't need EL packages...fedora uses normal packages right?

One more thing I guess I want to check for a newer kernel..., should I donwload one or not? I mean, the new kernel would leave that NVIDIA AGP enabled by default right [I mean the current options with my current kernel...]

I will be downloading udpates with yum till then, and do the kernel update after I receive some response...

Thank you
Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 17 2004, 09:53 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Howdy. smile.gif

When you say sound doesn't work, do you just mean that you cannot play MP3s? (Same problem my friend has). Sound in gaim works for him, but not MP3s, AVIs, etc.

Anyhoo, you can get MP3 support in XMMS, I found it in this thread:

http://www.linuxhelp.ca/forums/index.php?a...t=ST&f=9&t=2736


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 17 2004, 09:59 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi Termina,

I mean no sound at all, ...even no test soudn...

by the way, If you tried out Fedora Core 1 what did you use , up2date or yum ? , since it seems to me that both work...


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 17 2004, 10:03 AM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Have you tried "sndconfig"?

I used neither. XD I tried it out for a day or two, and went back to Knoppix. happy.gif Not a fan of RedHat/RedHat like distros


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 17 2004, 10:19 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

can anyone send me a yum.conf with aditional mirror sites for Fedora Core 1, since it seems to me that the Red Hat site is highly loaded, and downloading files take ages at 2-3kb...


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 18 2004, 05:05 AM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Robert ... I use apt-get for Fedora Core 1 ....doenload it here (top file):
http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/fed...ra/linux/1/apt/

Here is my sources.list:
CODE
# Fedora Linux 1
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/1/i386 core updates freshrpms

### Dag Apt Repository for Red Hat Fedora Core 1 (rhfc1)
rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/fc1/en/i386 dag

#newrpms.sunsite.dk
rpm http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/fc1 newrpms
rpm-src http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/fc1 newrpms

#ATrpms
rpm http://apt.physik.fu-berlin.de fedora/1/en/i386 at-testing at-bleeding at-good at-stable


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 18 2004, 05:12 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

thanx, I switched over to apt-get after trying yum for a few times, I've seen how slow it was ... so I donwloaded apt-get
and dist-upgrade, and updated the kernel to 2.4.22-1.2174.nptl .

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 18 2004, 05:20 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



after the first update yum is usually ok after that...but the first time it has to download all headers individually, which takes forever.

I only use yum with whitebox becuase it is the supported installer.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 04:55 PM