Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How Do I Remove Lilo?, Under very unusual circumstances.
Kortalh
post Mar 16 2004, 11:25 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 2,597



I recently installed Mandrake 10.0 as a dual-boot along with Windows XP Home on my laptop, but decided against it and removed it.

LILO was installed, of course, but now that Linux is off my system it's not neccissary. Thanks to Google, I've found many guides on how to uninstall LILO. Unfortunately, there's a catch...

My laptop is a Sony Vaio PCG-FRV37. This model comes with neither a Windows XP install CD nor a floppy drive. It also comes with an unknown password for Windows XP's administrator account. On top of that, Windows XP (as I'm sure you know) does not include DOS. All of the methods for removing LILO that I've seen require one of these three things.

I'm hoping that someone here can either supply me with an alternative method for removing LILO, or, failing that, a method to recover my XP Administrator password.

Thanks in advance for anyone that can help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 17 2004, 05:52 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

you can remove lilo :

start the computer with a DOS boot disk

and type

fdisk /mbr

I know there should be a better way to remove Lilo, but unfortunately I haven't used it yet, somehow I was stuck with GRUB, and since it works well with starting WinXP,2000,98 etc...oh and by the way, my System's hard drive configuration is, 1.Primary WinXP [60GB], 2 Secondary 80GB...3 Primary CD-ROM [Teac], 4 Secondary Linux [20GB], I know this is not good, to use cd and hd on same cable, but in my case I had no other option,...but soon I will buy myself a new harddrive...120GB hopefully smile.gif

you can install grub as described on this page :

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Multiboot-with-GRUB-2.html


Sincerely
Robert B

ps.: make sure that you understand everything on the grub install page, .... I would wait a day if I were you, to see if someone with more experience then me, comes up with some better idea, I mean the above mentioned guide should work for you, but since I never tried it myself, I cannot guarante anything for you.


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 17 2004, 05:53 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

oh , so you have no floppy drive ...no problemo smile.gif

then you should create a boot cd, you can create it with Ahead Nero 5.x ... or 6.x


just make sure CD is the first boot drive in BIOS...

sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 17 2004, 06:17 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



It just so happens that Mandrake has a Restore Windows Boot Loader option in it's rescue mode.

1. Boot from the Mandrake 10 CD-1 ... at the initial screen , press F1. (If your PC won't boot from CD-1, boot from CD-2 ...press F1 at the initial screen)

2. At the boot: prompt, type linux rescue and press enter.

3. If you had to boot from CD-2, Answer that the install is from CDROM ... then when asked, swap in CD-1 and press Retry. (If you were able to boot from CD-1, you won't have this step)

4. Select the Restore Windows Boot Loader Option with the arrow key and press enter.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 17 2004, 06:24 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you have an administrative account in WinXP (ie your user is the Administrators group, but not the Administrator user) ... then you can go to:

Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Computer Management

then select:

Open the Local Users and Groups section, then open users, then Right Click on the Administrator user select Set Password.

Change the Administrator user's password to what ever you want.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kortalh
post Mar 17 2004, 09:51 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 16-March 04
Member No.: 2,597



Wow, you guys are waaayyy more helpful and friendly than I expected. smile.gif Makes me regret my decision to uninstall linux.

Maybe I'll give it a shot on my desktop computer sometime soon. smile.gif



Edit: Just want to update and say that it worked 100%. Thanks again for your help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 17 2004, 09:24 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



You're welcome ... glad it worked smile.gif


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stevenm12345
post Mar 18 2004, 01:46 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-February 04
Member No.: 2,355



what do you mean winxp no dos???

go to run op ... type cmd or command and poff!!! dos biger than life

steve
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 18 2004, 05:11 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Steven ... I think he meant in relation to using fdisk to fix the MBR. There is no fdisk in WinXp. You are obviously correct that there is a cmd prompt (32-bit) and command prompt (16-bit) in Windows XP (Actually the cmd prompt is in WinNt, Win2K, WinXP, Win2003 ... and the command prompt is in all versions of windows since Win95).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 09:59 AM