Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Server
andy1974
post Mar 15 2004, 10:14 PM
Post #1

./configure

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,454

OK another question
i set up and machine with Linux server, and what i want to do is use it as a VERY simple file server for my home network. Heres where i am so far....i have made a directory under the /root login and have made it shared. I have 4 XP machines on the home network and i want all user of the xp machine to be able to gain access to the root directory that i made. read and write access. i can see the samba server on all machines but i need to know how to make it where the is no pass word needed ... i am new to linux and i dont want to make my fustrations trash my project....ANY HELP WOULD BE AWSOME
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 16 2004, 07:13 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

First ... please don't double post (put the same post in multiple sections of the forum....I removed your other post from Tips & Tricks) biggrin.gif

We may move this post to Tips & Tricks later....
-------------------------------
You do not want to create the directory under /root ... /root is the root users home directory and not where you want to put anything that is accessed by all users.

What is your distro of Linux?

The easiest thing to do (that is also somewhat secure) is this .... create users in linux for all the users on your WinXp machines (that have usernames in XP) ... if you don't know your username in WinXP, then at the WinXP command prompt type this command (followed by enter):

echo %USERNAME%