Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installs Fine, But Lilo Bombs Out, could it be my hard drive configuration?
griz_fan
post Mar 15 2004, 04:56 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,588



I've decided to give Linux another go, but I've hit the same problem with two different distributions, Lindows 4.5 developer edition and Mandrake 10. In both cases, it seems to install just fine, but on the initial reboot, LILO starts, but only shows "LI" on the screen, followed by a series of two digit numbers repeated to fill the screen. Both distributions exibited the same behavior, though the two digit numbers were different. In both cases, I had to do a FIXMBR to get XP back, or the Mrs. would have killed me. I had RedHat 9 working fine, but I recently reconfigured my hard drive arrangement, prompting me to try a new distro. that is where I suspect the problem lies, but I'm not sure where to proceed. Here's some hardware details:
mobo: Gigabyte GA7ZXE (Via KT133a chipset)
primary IDE channel: 80GB WD special edition NTFS master, 30GB Maxtor NTFS slave
secondary IDE channel: LiteOn 52x32x52x CDRW master, 10GB Western Digital slave

I'm trying to install to the 10GB Western Digital (slave, secondary controller). The reason why I have this drive as a slave is that some of my Windows CD burning apps (notably iTunes) seems to prefer having the CDRW drive as a master. To further complicate things, I don't have a floppy drive.

So, is there a way around my current problem, or will I wind up having to shuffle around my hard drive configuration? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 16 2004, 06:09 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

try using GRUB as the bootloader if possible...

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 17 2004, 08:25 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I agree with robert ... especially when lots multiple discs are involved. I like GRUB much better...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Mar 18 2004, 07:21 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



If Grub isn't an option, you could always try installing lilo to a floppy disk

(I had some problems installing lilo to my MBR, so I did this once). Just "Liloconfig" and choose "floppy" when it asks you where to install lilo.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 05:05 AM