Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Xfree86 Mouse Driver Missing, startx won't work
pv_pv
post Mar 13 2004, 04:18 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-March 04
Member No.: 2,574



I have had HR9 running without any problems as a gateway and samba NT domain controller for months now, nothing is ever done or changed on it except booting and shutting down.

All of a sudden the desktop will not load and startx doesn't work possibly due to not being able to load the mouse driver.

These are the errors I get.

(EE) Failed to load module "mouse" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) No input driver matching 'mouse'
(EE) No input driver matching 'mouse'
No core pointer

Fatal server error:
failed to initialize core devices

Can anyone shed any light as to why the module/driver has sudeenly dissappeared and how I can go about reinstating them.

Thank You
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 13 2004, 07:07 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



post all the Section "InputDevice" sections (for any mouse) from your /etc/X11/XF86Config file.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pv_pv
post Apr 3 2004, 05:13 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-March 04
Member No.: 2,574



Does this help?

# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "NEC MultiSync C500"
HorizSync 30.0 - 64.0
VertRefresh 47.0 - 120.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "Intel 815"
VideoRam 16384
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Apr 3 2004, 09:19 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

Try this

CODE
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option     "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option     "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option     "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option     "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Apr 3 2004, 12:11 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I don't know what happened, but it looks as if the driver "mouse" is missing....

I would think that is part of the Xfree package ...

Have you been applying RedHat 9 security updates. If so, how are you doing your updates (apt-get, yum, up2date)?

If you are using one of the above tools to do installs, install the packages:

XFree86-libs
XFree86-Xnest
XFree86-twm
XFree86-libs-data
XFree86-Mesa-libGL
XFree86-xfs
XFree86-doc
XFree86-100dpi-fonts
XFree86-base-fonts
XFree86
XFree86-xdm
XFree86-Xvfb
XFree86-Mesa-libGLU
XFree86-font-utils
XFree86-truetype-fonts
XFree86-xauth
XFree86-75dpi-fonts
XFree86-tools
redhat-config-xfree86

If you are not doing updates, I would recommend you install apt-get for redhat 9 like this from the command line:

CODE
wget http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/redhat/9/apt/apt-0.5.5cnc6-fr1.i386.rpm


then installing it via:

rpm -Uvh apt-0.5.5cnc6-fr1.i386.rpm

then doing:

apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


then reboot after the upgrade....

If everything is working, I would do:

apt-get install chkrootkit

then run:

chkrootkit


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 10:30 AM