Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake Ics
jimmy_j
post Dec 11 2002, 10:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-December 02
Member No.: 229



Does anyone successfully use mandrake internet connection sharing? I'm currently using 8.2 with one nic configured with a static ip and an external modem for internet access. The DHCP part of the ICS is working, my 2 windows boxes obtain an IP without a problem. All machines can ping each other and can access shares through Samba. The Linux box can connect to the internet and can brouse the web without a problem. I have run the wizard several times and have tried to configure the windows clients with transparent and manual proxy. Nothing seems to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rage
post Dec 11 2002, 09:05 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11-December 02
Member No.: 231



Try setting up MS first ,write down the IP addrress.Start a clean install of Mandrake at config network ,lang the IP address of your MS system tha should be it make sure your MS system is online for the wizard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Dec 11 2002, 11:20 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



make sure the gateway for your windows boxes
are set to the ip address of the nic that is used
in the linux box...thats what is sounds like....
if not the ip masquerading module might
not be loaded into the kernel....

try this first


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimmy_j
post Dec 14 2002, 10:21 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 11-December 02
Member No.: 229



Thanks for your posts. I recently upgraded to 9.0, ICS is working now. I'm now having a problem with shorewall allowing my samba traffic in. Any one played with the configuration?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etshooter
post Mar 11 2003, 07:38 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 28-February 03
Member No.: 498



I'm having problems with samba as well. I'm running Mandrake 9.0, and my windows machines can see the samba server in network neighborhood, but cannot access them or use the printer. At least ICS is working.


--------------------
Mandrake Linux 9.1
1.33Ghz Athlon T-bird
64MB ATI Radeon7000
256MB PC133
30 GB WesternDigital HD
1 Clueless dork on the keyboard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 06:15 AM