Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake Install Probs :(, Instant problem :/
m0rte
post Mar 9 2004, 07:47 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-March 04
Member No.: 2,550



Just downloaded and burned the new Mandrake distro for AMD64 processors, boot of CD 1 which boots fine, press Enter when prompted, a bunch of text apprears which looks normal (first time installing linux so i'm assuming) but includes an error or 2 about and idle process or something.

The error: - 'Kernel panic: attempted to kill the idle task. An idle task - not syncing' (incase you cant see image)

help? unsure.gif

cheers

Specs: Athlon 64 3200+, 1024mb DDR400 ram, ATI radeon 9800 Pro, 2x 120gig Maxtor HDD
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 9 2004, 08:05 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



NICE BOX !!!! biggrin.gif

Are the hard drives SATA or EIDE?

Built in RAID?

What is the MotherBoard make and model?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
m0rte
post Mar 10 2004, 04:04 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-March 04
Member No.: 2,550



thanks tongue.gif

They are 2 ATA133 drives with 8mb cache, and the mobo supports RAID but i dont have them running in dual raid mode or anything just yet.

Mobo: Asus K8V Deluxe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 10 2004, 07:48 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I did some searching on the web and I didn't see any specific problems for that board and Mandrake AMD 64 OS.

I don't know much about AMD 64 versions of linux (haven't installed one yet)... but you might try the gentoo install, I normally do a stage 1 install, so I just download the Minimum install disc. Gentoo has an AMD 64 release in their 2004.0 release directory:

Here is one site:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distri.../2004.0/livecd/

other mirrors here:
http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/where.xml


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 11:56 AM