Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installation Headache, new linux user, can't get program to run
kellybooth
post Mar 9 2004, 06:54 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,548

i would start by telling you the version i'm running, but i have no idea. this is my boyfriend's computer which i am stuck using for the next few months. i have never used linux before. basically, i need to install acrobat reader on the computer in order to do some work. i know there is a pdf viewer already installed, but what i need to view is requiring adobe acrobat reader only.

this is how far i have gotten. i downloaded acrobat reader from the website. i extracted it and ran the install feature, which came up in a terminal window, i accepted the user agreement and set a directory for the program to be installed in. after all that was done, i tried to figure out how to get the adobe reader to open and couldn't. when i went into the "bin" folder and clicked on the little gear icon for "acroread" it told me: "acroread" is an executable text file. Do you want to run it, or display its contents? I picked "run it", which didn't work, then i picked "run in Terminal" which gave me the following message:
Warning chartset "UTF 8" not supported using "IS08859-1"

HELP!!! I really need to get this program up and running.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
kellybooth
post Mar 9 2004, 07:46 PM
Post #2

i found out i'm running Redhat Linux version 9

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 9 2004, 08:23 PM
Post #3

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

On the desktop (not on any other icon), right click with you mouse and select New Launcher.

In the name box, type Acrobat Reader