Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hardware Issues, Nvidia card help
mianve
post Mar 8 2004, 01:31 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



I am clueless and totally new to linux, however I know that what I can do with it is awesome. I have what I think is a graphics acceleration issue, reason being the graphics on all non graphic intense apps work fine but the graphics for games are soooooooooo slooooow it is ridiculous. I have installed on my pc an "Nvidia GeForce2 MX" card. I am also runnin Mandrake9.2 w/ all current updates. Can someone show me ( Hold my hand ) in baby steps how to correct this. I really don't want to go back to winsucks, I hate it so much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 8 2004, 01:38 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

1) first you'll need to get the latest drivers from nvidia for you're video card.

start at this website http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_display...2_1.0-5336.html please read the notes about the driver installation it should not be hard to install.


You can use nautilus or mc to edit the files that are mentioned in the notes for the driver installation on nvidias website.


You should download apt-get or yum and use it to update you're system.
http://apt.freshrpms.net/

You change runlevel by editing /etc/inittab and look for a line at the beggining of the file id:5:initdefault:
just change 5 to 3 to start the system in runlevel 3 [without x11 that is], and switch back after driver installation
the same way, just change back to runlevel 5


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 8 2004, 01:48 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



Thanks so much Robert!! I'm glad that you took the time to help. I have to admit that I don't know what nautilus or mc is. I have been using Linux for two days and have reinstalled it three times. I just don't know what to do. I am so used to windows that my brain thinks "windows" I know that's probably the wrong thing to do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 8 2004, 02:23 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



I still don't know what to do,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 8 2004, 02:40 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

OK, I'll try again this time, step-by-step smile.gif [hope this will help you]
!!MAKE SURE YOU READ THE README ON THE NVIDIA WEBSITE!!!
Expecialy the part about things you should change in the X11 config file
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-5336/

1.You go to the nvidia webpage and download this driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run
http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/1.0-5336/
You should download it somewhere for example /home [in this step-by-step guide I will asume you downloaded it to /home ]

2. Now you need to edit the /etc/inittab file , this can be done in various ways :
! Open up the console [Suse Symbol] sytem[or something] and search for Terminal [or Console].
* now try the following in the console, type
mc [if you've got midnight commander installed it should show up , blue screen , sorta norton commander]
if nothing try
pico if something shows up, then just

cd /etc/
pico inittab

and change the line id:5:initdefault
to id:3:initdefault

this will change you're runlevel to 3,...note that if you don't have any of the above, you could try using a text editor to open up that file /etc/inittab and edit it.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Or! you can try rebooting the system and if you use grub, at the point where it waits for 10 sec
there is a option to start linux with custom or something like that parameters try
typing linux init3 [or?] linux init 3 [sorry I'm on Win right now]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3.Now If you finaly made it to the non gui mode smile.gif, just :
a) cd /home
cool.gif ls
c) ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run
[and follow the instructions]
d) reboot the computer and if the NVIDIA logo shows up when X11 starts you did it smile.gif

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 8 2004, 02:50 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



Thanks again Robert, I will try that when I get home. I'm at work, lol. I really apreciate the help. It feels so good to be able to find help with linux. You are great!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 8 2004, 02:57 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



I think that it is the terminal that I am so afraid of. I wasn't used to using it or the numerous linux commands. There is so much to learn. I feel like I'm standing at the base of Mt. Everest, lol. But I know it is worth it. I can't to get back to it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 8 2004, 11:10 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



actually, the console is pretty easy ... no mouse to click. Just type stuff. smile.gif

I find myself opening terminal windows all the time and typing console commands instead of using the menus...even for graphical stuff I usually start them inside a terminal window.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 10 2004, 08:14 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



Robert,

Ok, I opened a terminal, the ran "mc", found the "etc/inittab", opened it to edit it, found & changed the line id:5:initdefault
to id:3:initdefault. But I must be missing a step.

The nvidia readme says to first exit or stop x so that I am no longer running in a GUI. How do I do that? Next question.......After I change the value from 5 to 3, do I save it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 10 2004, 08:17 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Got to be the root user to change the file ....

after you save it, reboot and you will be in console mode.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
or as the root user in a terminal window, you can just type:

init 3
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 10 2004, 08:20 AM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



and to go back to gui after the install I type <init 5>?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 10 2004, 08:21 AM
Post #12


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



QUOTE (mianve @ Mar 10 2004, 08:20 AM)
and to go back to gui after the install I type <init 5>? How do I switch from user to root?

How do I switch from user to root?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 10 2004, 08:33 AM
Post #13


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

type su <press ENTER>
type in youre root password <ENTER>

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 10 2004, 08:39 AM
Post #14


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



after you are done with the install, reboot.

Before you start, you need to have the kernel-source package installed that matches your current kernel.


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 10 2004, 08:45 AM
Post #15


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



Thanks,

So here is what I do

1) Start computer
2) Open terminal
3) Type <su> hit enter
4) Type <root password> hit enter
5) Type <init 3> hit enter
6) Go to CD/Home
7) Run Nvidia driver app
8) Edit xfree86 as per Nvidia readme
9) Reboot computer and enjoy!!

Last question I hope, Do I need to change back to init 5 after the install?

I feel so ignorant, but I read the manuals every night, lol
One things for sure though, I hate ms win passionatly, argh!

Thanks for being so helpful!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 10 2004, 05:06 PM
Post #16


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



for # 3, I recommend:

su - root

After the reboot (step 9), login to the console as root ... then type startx

if X starts and works, then edit the file:

/etc/initab and change the 3 back to a 5 in the line:
id:3:initdefault


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 11 2004, 09:35 AM
Post #17


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



I did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 11 2004, 09:48 AM
Post #18


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Congratulations ! ! ! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mianve
post Mar 11 2004, 09:54 AM
Post #19


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-March 04
From: Louisiana, U.S.A.
Member No.: 2,540



l LOVE LINUX!!!!!!! YEAH, I FEEL LIKE A KID AGAIN, LOL. LINUX MAKES COMUTERS FUN AGAIN, DOESN'T IT?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Mar 11 2004, 10:41 AM
Post #20


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Yes,

except when it $#@$@ me around while installing Ati drivers smile.gif smile.gif, why? why? me? why?


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:33 PM