Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pixel Settings, change pixel settings in prompt
Mugsy
post Mar 6 2004, 11:01 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,529



first id like to say that i am quite new to linux, i run slackware 9.1 and am quite content. but i do need to know how i change the pixel settings in a command prompt because i set it wrong during installation. thanks.


--------------------

the 1337est linux nub,
Mugsy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 7 2004, 07:08 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Do you mean that your X won't start because the monitor / video card info needs to be changes?

If yes,

Find the specs for your monitor Refresh Rate and Horizontal Sync (use either the manual that came with your monitor or the manufacturer's website to get accurate information).

You also need to know what driver to use for your card...go here and see which driver matches with your card.

Edit the file:

/etc/X11/XF86Config-4 <--If it is there

or

/etc/X11/XF86Config <--If XF86Config-4 doesn't exist

and change the values for:

HorizSync
VertRefresh


to the values you got from a valid source for your monitor ... this is critical ... your monitor or video card (or both) can fry if you set these wrong! Here is an example for my NEC Multisync E1100:

HorizSync 31.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 120.0


Also, in the video card section, find the line:

Driver "xxxxx"

and change it to the driver (from the link above) that matches your video card. {If your video card is a fairly new NVIDIA (>FX 5200) or ATI Radeon (>9700) you may need to install proprietary drivers from the applicable website to get it to work at all.}

Save the file and see if X works...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mugsy
post Mar 7 2004, 12:21 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 6-March 04
Member No.: 2,529



no those i already have done just the resolution (sry it was late when i posted the topic) is set to 1024x768x256 and i want it at 1024x768x64k


--------------------

the 1337est linux nub,
Mugsy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 7 2004, 09:27 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



In the XF86Config file, look for this section:

Section "Screen"

change the default color depth to 16 or 24 vice 8 ... here is mine as an example:

CODE
Section "Screen"
       Identifier "Screen0"
       Device     "Videocard0"
       Monitor    "Monitor0"
       DefaultDepth     24
       SubSection "Display"
               Depth     24
               Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
       EndSubSection
EndSection


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 08:55 AM