Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Yet Another Samba Question /advice
Robert83
post Mar 5 2004, 04:51 PM
Post #1


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

My network has 3 subnets 192.168.0.0 192.168.1.0 192.168.2.0 , each of them has a local master browser wich is a Samba server [3.0.2a] , and it works really nice, each subnet can only see it's own WORKGROUP, and browsing in the network is fast.

1. The three subnets are joined together at the proxy server [I'm just now creating a new one , using whitebox linux and enterprise versions of Samba, Squid]. I've read about Domain Master Browser in a excelent SAMBA documentation, but the only problem was that one of my questions wasn't answered, as I've read the local master browsers and the domain master browser would comunicate and switch/uptade lists of available clients on each of the subnets, but I'm really interested if that would allow [again.. sad.gif ], that each WORKGROUP would be shown in the NETWORK NEIGHBOURHOOD, from any of them subnets, what would happen would that problem [ problem for me ] show up, or not?

2. The next question would be, as I've got three subnets 192.168.0.0 192.168.1.0 192.168.2.0 , and they are joined togeather at the proxy/nat server wich has the ip adress 192.168.10.2 and goes out at 192.168.10.1 [the firewall], I'm doing no IP masquerading... would the firewall allow internal subnet ip's out as well? [for example :
computer 192.168.0.2 ---> 192.168.10.2 ----> eth1[DMZ] 192.168.10.1 [iptables is set to trust eth1 connections] would the firewall allow this, and grant access to the internet for 192.168.0.2 ?


3. What speed increase can a WINS server with Samba do in my network? looking at my subnets and proxy server, where should I put it? do I need multiple or only one ?


Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 6 2004, 06:32 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you are happy right now with the master browser configuration and you don't want to change it (you want the 3 subnets to stay seperate), the addition of the proxy server shouldn't have any effect. (as long as the proxy server doesn't have samba installed ... or if samba is installed on the proxy server, the options inside the /etc/samba/smb.conf for:

preferred master = No
local master = No
domain master = No

are set.

As for a wins server ... if you have a wins server, I have found that name lookups are faster...especially name lookups between subnets. I use a wins server on all NT4 domains that I run ... I would setup the Win2K server as the WINS server. You should only need 1 wins server total ... but it might make all the computers show up in the browse list...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 01:04 AM