Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dhcp?, eds debian help
rdoctane
post Mar 4 2004, 11:08 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,520

i just got xbox linux. it is running Ed's Debian, but i cant seem to get my internet working. i have a linksys router and another box running XP. i thought to mess around in /etc/network/interfaces to fix it or find some answers but i didnt find any. im a linux newbie jus for an fyi. UPDATE: MAR. 5 this version of debian is just like any other version of debian so dont think that this is very different from "normal" debian smile.gif

--------------------
It's "Unix" if it has the "x" sound in its name - the Xbox must be Unix then.

from a discussion on slashdot.org
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 7 2004, 07:51 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,151

sorry ... my debian test install hard drive crashed...had to do another install to see how to do this:

does your /etc/networking/interfaces look like this:
CODE
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# This entry was created during the Debian installation
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE

+Quote Post
rdoctane
post Mar 7 2004, 01:17 PM
Post #3