Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Nvidia Accelerated Driver Problems, startx freezes
StevenMig
post Feb 29 2004, 10:03 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-February 04
Member No.: 2,497



I installed the latest linux drivers, and when change the driver line in the XF86Config file to "nvidia" (from "nv") startx freezes. I have looked in the readme for the Nvidia drivers, and nothing there helps me. I have let the computer sit to see if it was just frozen, and it didn't work. I can hit ctrl-alt-del to restart though. The only way for me to use X windows system is to change the driver line to nv and when i do that no opengl progs work. I am running Red Hat 9 and I do have onboard that has cause problems on with Windows (and is detected at startup every once in awhile).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
veris2040
post Mar 1 2004, 01:05 AM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 7-January 04
Member No.: 2,094



I'm using Mandrake 9 and it took me a while to figure out nvidia linux instructions. Check to see if you have another file called XF86config-4 and try to change the settings there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Mar 1 2004, 01:54 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



After you run startx, a Ctrl+Alt+F1 to go back to your console and see if there are any error messages showing when X startups up. It may be missing something.

As well, when you edit your XF86Config-4 file, besure that under the modules section, that you comment out the "dri" and "GLinfo" lines (place a "#" at the begining of the line)


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 1 2004, 03:21 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



The way the XF86Config files work is this...

If XF86Config-4 is present it is used ... otherwise XF86Config is used...

The GLcore thing is very important ... make sure it is remarked out.

In the file /var/log/XFree86.0.log you will have the errors logged why X couldn't start ... you can use the command:

cat /var/log/XFree86.0.log | grep "(EE)"


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StevenM
post Mar 1 2004, 09:38 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-January 04
Member No.: 2,136



I have tried hitting ctrl-alt-F1 and it doesn't work. I will have to try it again though. Currently I am using the "nv" driver, and the log says it can't initialize the GLX extension (NVIDIA XFree86 driver not found). I don't have an XFree86Config-4 file.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 2 2004, 09:29 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



When you use the nv driver there is no GLX .... that is what makes the 3D stuff work!

use the command lspci and post any results related to video. Similar to this:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)

post the Section "Device" section for your video card....here is mine
CODE
Section "Device"
       Identifier  "Videocard0"
       Driver      "nvidia"
       VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
       BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
       BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection


If you have more than 1 Section "Device" section, we may need to put the BusID in the XF86Config file for both cards...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StevenM
post Mar 2 2004, 10:27 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-January 04
Member No.: 2,136



CODE
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Videocard0"
    Driver      "nv"
    VendorName  "nvidia"
    BoardName   "RIVA TNT2"
    VideoRam    16384
EndSection

I don't seem to have the lspci command, do you know any alternatives? (or maybe where to get it)
I had to manually set the VidRam to 16MB. Linux detected it as 4.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 2 2004, 10:49 PM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



lspci is provided by the package:

pciutils


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StevenM
post Mar 2 2004, 11:03 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13-January 04
Member No.: 2,136



00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82810 GMCH [Graphics Memory Controller Hub] (rev 03)

00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82810 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 03)

01:0b.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] (rev 15)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 3 2004, 06:15 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



try setting your BusID like this:

CODE
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Videocard0"
    Driver      "nv"
    VendorName  "nvidia"
    BoardName   "RIVA TNT2"
    VideoRam    16384
    BusID       "PCI:1:11:0"
EndSection


If that works, try shifting back to nvidia for the driver...


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StevenMig
post Mar 3 2004, 05:16 PM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 29-February 04
Member No.: 2,497



Thank you very much!! It works now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 10:38 AM