Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Line In Recorder
Stevey_G
post Feb 28 2004, 11:24 AM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Where can I get a decent line in recorder for linux people? I want something adequate to record my mixes from my decks. Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Feb 29 2004, 11:35 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



If you have a 1/8" stereo to dual RCA Adapter, you can use a standard Sound Card's input line to the tape decks non-amplified output (not output to speakers ... but output that you would hookup to an amplifier input).

If you have an external mixer with a 1/4" stereo output ... then is adapter would do the trick.

I have found the quality of that to be OK for most purposes ...

You would control the gain using the standard mixer in Linux (under the sound menu option).


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 1 2004, 06:04 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



The decks are already set up, and linux is playing the tunes through fine, i just need a software based recorder for recording mixes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 2 2004, 07:48 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



Audacity is a pretty good program ... what linux distro are you using?


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 2 2004, 11:47 AM
Post #5


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Red Hat 9
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 2 2004, 09:50 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



I just checked this download on RH9 ....

download this file:
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/latest/aud...ux-i386.tar.bz2

then issue the command:

tar -xvjf audacity-linux-i386.tar.bz2

from within the destination directory ...

then move the directory to /usr/lib/ like this:

mv audacity-linux-i386-1.2.0 /usr/lib/

then go to /usr/bin and create a link to the executable like this:

cd /usr/bin
ln -s /usr/lib/audacity-linux-i386-1.2.0/audacity .


then use the command:

audacity

to start the program....


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 7 2004, 11:11 AM
Post #7


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Bit of an error when I go to run it mate.

./audacity: error while loading shared libraries: libmad.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hughesjr
post Mar 7 2004, 11:21 AM
Post #8


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 3,433
Joined: 25-July 03
From: Corpus Chrsiti, TX, USA
Member No.: 1,151



That is a shared library provided by the package libmad

are you using apt for RH9?

If so, do:

apt-get update
apt-get install libmad


You can get the package for RH9 here:

http://shrike.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=1385

I don't know if there are other dependancies or not....

You can download and try to install the libmad package like this if you don't have apt:

rpm -Uvh libmad-0.15.0b-2.fr.i386.rpm


--------------------
Johnny Hughes
hughesjr@linuxhelp.net
Enterprise Alternatives: CentOS, WhiteBoxEL
Favorite Workstation Distros (in order): CentOS, Gentoo, Debian Sarge, Ubuntu, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Slackware, SUSE
Favorite Server Distros (in order): CentOS, WhiteBoxEL, Debian Sarge, Slackware, Mandrake, FedoraCore, Gentoo, SUSE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 7 2004, 04:28 PM
Post #9


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



You are a legend my friend!! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 19 2004, 05:29 PM
Post #10


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Ok its nicely installed now... but when I go to press the record button i get this:

Error while opening sound device. Please check the output device settings and the project sample rate. ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stevey_G
post Mar 21 2004, 03:54 PM
Post #11


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 23-February 04
Member No.: 2,448



Anyone? I have two sound cards in my machine. The one im using is the on board one... not sure what device it should be set to? And what the smaple rate should be?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 07:25 PM