Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Debian (ftp Server Perhaps)
CyberSlug
post Feb 25 2004, 08:59 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,467

A little history here. I am a total newbie. In the past, I have installed RH 7.x, 8.x, Lycoris, Mandrake 9.0 and dinked around with Knoppix. All of these had the GUI. I never really did anything with them because I really didn't know what to do with them. I want to learn command line stuff so I thought I would try to set up a sendmail server or FTP server using Debian (FTP would be more useful for me). Can anyone point me towards some guides for this? About Debian is a good source of info but they state that the procedures they use in the guides are not secure and should not be used on an internet server. The only way I am ever going to learn this stuff is to just do it. I have never used any of the server stuff on any of the distros so any recommendations would be helpful.

Thoughts are appreciated.
-CyberSlug
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Feb 26 2004, 01:57 PM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

Debian is a really nice distribution for several reasons, the biggest reason is apt-get. If you're not faimiler with this tool yet, check it out. Debian is built upon a 3-part packaging system, think of it as a sandwitch:

dpkg - The package manager for Debian, similar to Redhat's RPM (among other distros but redhat made it). This is what installs the packages and maintains the package database.